WarcraftReamls.com
  FAQFAQ    SearchSearch    MemberlistMemberlist    UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
  ProfileProfile    Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages    Log inLog in 
GreaseMonkey script for Firefox to add WR Links to WoW Forum

 
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    WarcraftRealms.com Forum Index -> General Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Rollie
Site Admin


Joined: 28 Nov 2004
Posts: 5374
Location: Austin, TX
WR Updates: 480,131
Rollie WR Profile

PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 10:53 am    Post subject: GreaseMonkey script for Firefox to add WR Links to WoW Forum Reply with quote

One of our illustrious community members, Ceto, who plays Cetoh on Uther has written a nifty little script for people who use GreaseMonkey with Firefox.

When installed, this script will insert links for Character Names, Guild Names and Servers from the official forums (US and EU!) back to their WarcraftRealms.com counterparts!

See the created links in this screenshot:



In order to use this, you have to be using Firefox and you have to install the GreaseMonkey extension:

http://greasemonkey.mozdev.org/

And lastly, you need to install the script:

http://static.bwerp.net/~adam/2008/11/07/warcraftrealmslinks-0.5.user.js

Thanks to Ceto for this very nifty addon!


Last edited by Rollie on Thu Mar 15, 2007 9:19 am; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
oiseaux



Joined: 24 Oct 2005
Posts: 370
Location: Butler, PA
WR Updates: 526,961
oiseaux WR Profile

PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 11:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow that is awesome. Great job Ceto! =D
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WyriHaximus



Joined: 18 Oct 2005
Posts: 244
Location: Koedijk, Alkmaar, Noord-Holland, The Netherlands
WR Updates: 1,520,754
WyriHaximus WR Profile

PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 3:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll try it out as soon as greasemonkey decides to start working Razz.
_________________

My World of Warcraft Screenshots / Map
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Babs



Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 133
Location: Holland
WR Updates: 201,763
Babs WR Profile

PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 3:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmm... saw this before... 2 topics up?
_________________
.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
WyriHaximus



Joined: 18 Oct 2005
Posts: 244
Location: Koedijk, Alkmaar, Noord-Holland, The Netherlands
WR Updates: 1,520,754
WyriHaximus WR Profile

PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 3:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Babs wrote:
hmm... saw this before... 2 topics up?
Yeah one in the news section aswell.
_________________

My World of Warcraft Screenshots / Map
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Rollie
Site Admin


Joined: 28 Nov 2004
Posts: 5374
Location: Austin, TX
WR Updates: 480,131
Rollie WR Profile

PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 4:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, there's one in news as well as a sticky here as over time the news post will get pushed into the netherworld =)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Babs



Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 133
Location: Holland
WR Updates: 201,763
Babs WR Profile

PostPosted: Fri Feb 23, 2007 6:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

btw. lol@ the undead(2nd pst on screenshot)
_________________
.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Babs



Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 133
Location: Holland
WR Updates: 201,763
Babs WR Profile

PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 9:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmm, seems its broken for guilds, since Blizz decided to link all guilds to their Armory =(

Screenshot while Greasemoney activated:
http://img262.imageshack.us/my.php?image=baom9.jpg
_________________
.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DM.
Census Tester


Joined: 03 Oct 2005
Posts: 1155
Location: Toronto, Canada
WR Updates: 841,833
DM. WR Profile

PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 1:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Seems to be fine on the US forums. But I bet eventually what WoW-Europe did will be moved over to the US anytime soon... Sure Ceto will fix it up anyways. He did update it so that it had 2 links. The normal guild link to the WCR profile, and then a 2nd link beside it to the armory profile. But I'm sure that can be changed around just disable it for now and wait a bit for him to change it up.

And WoW-Europe has both the character name and guild linked to the Armory.
_________________

Click my sig
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Babs



Joined: 11 Dec 2006
Posts: 133
Location: Holland
WR Updates: 201,763
Babs WR Profile

PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 3:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

DM. wrote:
s both the character name and guild linked to the Armory.


indeed, but it really breaks the Guild part of the layout. Bit of a waste, since the forums look really good.
_________________
.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DM.
Census Tester


Joined: 03 Oct 2005
Posts: 1155
Location: Toronto, Canada
WR Updates: 841,833
DM. WR Profile

PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 3:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just disable Greasemonkey for now... Right click the Monkey on the bottom right and uncheck Enable.
_________________

Click my sig
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DM.
Census Tester


Joined: 03 Oct 2005
Posts: 1155
Location: Toronto, Canada
WR Updates: 841,833
DM. WR Profile

PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 7:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well it happened.... What was done on WoW-Europe is now on the WoW US forums... So this script wont work =(
_________________

Click my sig
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rollie
Site Admin


Joined: 28 Nov 2004
Posts: 5374
Location: Austin, TX
WR Updates: 480,131
Rollie WR Profile

PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 8:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm sure Ceto will get a fix done in short order =)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Rollie
Site Admin


Joined: 28 Nov 2004
Posts: 5374
Location: Austin, TX
WR Updates: 480,131
Rollie WR Profile

PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2007 3:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you get here, Ceto has fixed it to work with the Armory links! It now appends a * that links to the WR stuff:

http://static.bwerp.net/~adam/2007/02/21/warcraftrealmslinks-0.4.user.js
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Ceto
Shady Dealer


Joined: 16 Oct 2005
Posts: 350
Location: Plymouth, NH
WR Updates: 193,167
Ceto WR Profile

PostPosted: Fri Nov 07, 2008 10:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey, I forgot about this thing.

Here's a new version that fixes the broken guild links:

http://static.bwerp.net/~adam/2008/11/07/warcraftrealmslinks-0.5.user.js
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
DM.
Census Tester


Joined: 03 Oct 2005
Posts: 1155
Location: Toronto, Canada
WR Updates: 841,833
DM. WR Profile

PostPosted: Fri Nov 07, 2008 11:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nice thanks for the update!
_________________

Click my sig
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Deadsheep



Joined: 11 Jul 2006
Posts: 5

WR Updates: 487,059
Deadsheep WR Profile

PostPosted: Sat Dec 06, 2008 6:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey guys

http://forums.worldofwarcraft.com/thread.html?topicId=13275279849&sid=1

Just a heads-up. I didn't make that post, so I don't know if 100% legit or not.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DM.
Census Tester


Joined: 03 Oct 2005
Posts: 1155
Location: Toronto, Canada
WR Updates: 841,833
DM. WR Profile

PostPosted: Sun Dec 07, 2008 1:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I heard about this a couple of days ago. Its basically just a trojan that identifies itself as Greasemonkey and installs itself as that onto your computer.

Its not a vulnerability in Greasemonkey or Firefox, its just someone who thinks they downloaded Greasemonkey but instead didn't and downloaded something else. Mozilla has said that the Greasemonkey available on their site is legit and safe to use.
_________________

Click my sig
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    WarcraftRealms.com Forum Index -> General Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
WarcraftRealms.com  


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group