WarcraftReamls.com
  FAQFAQ    SearchSearch    MemberlistMemberlist    UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
  ProfileProfile    Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages    Log inLog in 
Uploading Data

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    WarcraftRealms.com Forum Index -> Census Talks
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
hisxmark



Joined: 23 Jul 2009
Posts: 1

WR Updates: 0
hisxmark WR Profile

PostPosted: Thu Jul 23, 2009 6:56 pm    Post subject: Uploading Data Reply with quote

I am periodically reminded to upload my census data to this site. I haven't a clue as to how that is done.

Is there a button somewhere?

Embarassed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hybuir
Gear Dependent Squirrel
Gear Dependent Squirrel


Joined: 06 Sep 2005
Posts: 1538
Location: Austin, TX
WR Updates: 2,623,587
Hybuir WR Profile

PostPosted: Thu Jul 23, 2009 7:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

on the main page there is a button to download and one to submit... here's the link

http://www.warcraftrealms.com/upload.php
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
nurgletwh



Joined: 17 Nov 2009
Posts: 4
Location: Nebraska
WR Updates: 4,521
nurgletwh WR Profile

PostPosted: Tue Nov 17, 2009 5:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Another noob here...

It keeps telling me I have the wrong version (although I don't) when I go to upload the data. Is this a Macintosh issue, or...?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hybuir
Gear Dependent Squirrel
Gear Dependent Squirrel


Joined: 06 Sep 2005
Posts: 1538
Location: Austin, TX
WR Updates: 2,623,587
Hybuir WR Profile

PostPosted: Wed Nov 18, 2009 7:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

that's bizzare. I would rename the Censusplus.lua and create a new one.

Also make sure you're downloading it form your SavedVariables folder
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
Fugazi



Joined: 26 Dec 2005
Posts: 5
Location: Poland
WR Updates: 501,744
Fugazi WR Profile

PostPosted: Wed Nov 18, 2009 6:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is also very good idea to use UniUploader - there is info about it on page linked before. Using it you will be able to upload stuff with one click and gzipped (much smaller file to upload = faster upload).

All you need to do is:
1) In "Settings" tab change URL to "http://www.warcraftrealms.com/uniupload.php" and under "Upload Access" put your warcraftrealms login and password.
2) On same tab click "Show SVs" button and make sure CensusPlus is checked.
3) On same tab click "Advanced mode" go to "Advanced" tab and under "Other Options" make sure "GZIP Compression" is checked.

Now every time you want to uplaod your data just run UniUploader.exe (put it in WoW directory) and press Upload button.

EDIT: Just noticed, no idea if UniUploader works on Mac.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
nurgletwh



Joined: 17 Nov 2009
Posts: 4
Location: Nebraska
WR Updates: 4,521
nurgletwh WR Profile

PostPosted: Fri Nov 20, 2009 2:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

LOL, yeah, that blasted mac thing. :p

Yes, downloading it from the SavedVariables folder. I have a couple of them to try from, as the addon is turned on for a char on Alliance side and one Horde side; it didn't matter which one I used.

I'll try moving/renaming the file and letting it start over! We'll see how that goes. Maybe I'll have to try the uniloader; but I just got off shift, it is way early, so that isn't happening now!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Kosh



Joined: 01 Jul 2007
Posts: 84
Location: Somewhere on or near Earth
WR Updates: 1,210,548
Kosh WR Profile

PostPosted: Fri Nov 20, 2009 6:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Last I checked, UniUploader was only a Windows executable. It was partially for this reason that I wrote my own upload script.

Anyway, from what you are saying, it sounds like you are uploading the wrong SavedVariables file; one holding the per-character configuration instead of the "global" (actually account-level) configuration.

Ignoring the funkiness that can occur under Vista / Win7, the right SV file is located, in the same place on all platforms. It is located relative to the directory where World of Warcraft is installed, at
Quote:
WTF/Account/<accountname>/SavedVariables/CensusPlus.lua
where "<accountname> is the name of your WoW account (not character).

It sounds like what you are uploading are per-character files, which would be found at
Quote:
WTF/Account/<accountname>/<realmname>/<charactername>/SavedVariables/CensusPlus.lua


The reason there are both per-character and per-account files for CP is because the (much larger) per-account file holds the census data for all realms and factions that you scan, while the per-character files hold configuration / preferences for each of those characters, such as whether "verbose" is turned on, whether to auto-scan, etc.

If you have been sending the larger per-account file, then the problem lies elsewhere.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nurgletwh



Joined: 17 Nov 2009
Posts: 4
Location: Nebraska
WR Updates: 4,521
nurgletwh WR Profile

PostPosted: Sat Nov 21, 2009 9:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

AAaaah... Ok. I shall go try this! The upload window hid the filepath and wouldn't move so I couldn't verify the whole thing. So I may have assumed it was longer than it was.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nurgletwh



Joined: 17 Nov 2009
Posts: 4
Location: Nebraska
WR Updates: 4,521
nurgletwh WR Profile

PostPosted: Sat Nov 21, 2009 9:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, an improvement.

Now it just gets stuck telling me to please wait, and my browser tells me it is uploading data. But it has been doing such for ten minutes now, so I kinda don't believe it. :p
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Bilsy



Joined: 20 Sep 2012
Posts: 1

WR Updates: 0
Bilsy WR Profile

PostPosted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 1:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you so much.. i was freaking out because i could not find the button.. It is now updated... Sadly it showed like 2 people for horde and 800+ for alliance.. which for my server seems about right.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
1974ER
Epic Censi


Joined: 07 Nov 2008
Posts: 729

WR Updates: 23,971,221
1974ER WR Profile

PostPosted: Sat Sep 22, 2012 5:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome Bilsy. Next time you might want to check that you are logged in on that side too as I can't see any updates on your personal page, leading me to think you uploaded anonymously.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    WarcraftRealms.com Forum Index -> Census Talks All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
WarcraftRealms.com  


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group