WarcraftReamls.com
  FAQFAQ    SearchSearch    MemberlistMemberlist    UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
  ProfileProfile    Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages    Log inLog in 
Blizzard has announced release date for Mists of Pandaria
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    WarcraftRealms.com Forum Index -> General Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
FuxieDK



Joined: 22 May 2008
Posts: 453
Location: Copenhagen, DK
WR Updates: 2,585,132
FuxieDK WR Profile

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2012 11:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Balgair wrote:
I like the idea of a fake character to be loaded by default if no data though, I've no idea how feasible it is, but it's a way round it
No need for fake toons..

As addons only work when you have a toon logged in, current toon (class, race, name, guild, faction, timestamp, etc) could be inserted after the prune-function and when addon loads after login..

Problem solved..
_________________
Doing census on various servers Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bringoutyourdead
Forums Admin & general flunky


Joined: 07 Nov 2008
Posts: 600
Location: Silicon Valley
WR Updates: 7,092,047
bringoutyourdead WR Profile

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2012 4:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

1974ER wrote:
Hmmm... not really my area of expertise, but have you tried any of the following:

1) Forcing auto-census and auto-start to be on by default?

5) Manually created a .lua that only contains one character and pressing the button?



1. was a possibility.. but I didn't want to change in any major way how the user interacts with the addon.

5. In reality would have been the worst thing possible! Shocked

The problem was solved with a lot of testing by Balgair.. it ended up being an issue with the logarithmic level bars.

Its all Rollie's fault.. no really.. not.

For some reason Blizzard has changed how they respond to the math.log function for Lua. Maybe because they were doing it wrong before.. which just happened to allow Rollie to get away with something that shouldn't have worked.

Time to crack your math books boys and girls... Logarithms have two interesting points...
a log(1) [log of value 1] = 0
a log( less then 1) .. for values less then 1.0 return as negatives
only log(greater then 1) .. ie. 2 or more will return as positive values.

So when character count for a level is 0 the value returned is negative infinity.. which in pre MoP beta clients.. Blizzard allows but apparently in the beta Blizzard treats as Zero... leading to divide by zero issues

suggestion 5.. guarantees that you always have the divide by zero problem.

This is a condition that Rollie didn't handle.. and is theoretically bad... but in reality normally not an issue. How many times have you started a census run from zero data.. and only found yourself in the realm?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bringoutyourdead
Forums Admin & general flunky


Joined: 07 Nov 2008
Posts: 600
Location: Silicon Valley
WR Updates: 7,092,047
bringoutyourdead WR Profile

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2012 4:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Six days and counting:
All the major issues have been stomped on.. and are now working as intended.

wholib integration has been finished... which means that not only will CensusPlus play nice with other addons.. but finally other addons won't screw up CensusPlus queries.

Working with performance numbers given me by 1974ER. It appears we are getting a small improvement in census runs. Small being the keyword here.


Balgair is doing full testing.. checking out all the options and conditions.. to see if she can break anything. I expect there are a few minor things to be worked on.

On item that will need to have more work on is the localization.lua I've worked through the files and linked out more English commands and text to Localization
(but probably not all)

Even the usage/help text is out there.. so our friends who use other languages will be able to see how to use the addon... finally.
Well assuming someone provides the text needed.

the new Localization file will be posted in a day or so..
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FuxieDK



Joined: 22 May 2008
Posts: 453
Location: Copenhagen, DK
WR Updates: 2,585,132
FuxieDK WR Profile

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2012 9:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bringoutyourdead wrote:
wholib integration has been finished... which means that not only will CensusPlus play nice with other addons.. but finally other addons won't screw up CensusPlus queries.
Regarding WhoLib...

Before we had WhoLib support, we could make a manual /WHO command (while census was running), and that manual result was captured by CP.
After WhoLib was incorporated, manual /WHO commands, are ignored by census.

I know that WhoLib solves many many more problems than it creates, but this is an issue that have annoyed me since. Is there any chance of you can have a look at it?

Scenario:
I play WoW, and census does it's thing. I'm on a crowded server, and census takes 27 minutes.
1 minute after Census finish, I level up the lowlevel toon I'm playing, and I plan to log off and go to bed.

Now, I have 2 choises:
- Run Census and wait half an hour for Census to catch my lowlevel toon have gained a level.
- Wait until tomorrow with a new census, having history to reflect wrong day of level up.

Back in the day, I started census, did a manual /WHO of my toon, and then stopped census. That would save my toon's new level. But it doesn't work with WhoLib.
_________________
Doing census on various servers Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
1974ER
Epic Censi


Joined: 07 Nov 2008
Posts: 729

WR Updates: 23,549,487
1974ER WR Profile

PostPosted: Tue Aug 21, 2012 11:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have to try to cram several answers into one post. Very Happy

Fuxie, the button idea was related to Bringoutyourdead's remark about actions being taken in wrong order.

Balgair, I was not thinking about a fake character. I was thinking of using an old character from for example Bringoutyourdead and you as base characters. The site ignores old, already known data anyway, so it would have not caused any problems during processing.

Fuxie, my idea was to copy the backup to replace deleted .lua before running WoW. That's why I said it would be a bit of a hassle, because it would have to have been done manually, because census doesn't initially know whether it's running on a US or EU area.

Bringoutyourdead, very interesting results. Very Happy On that zero data question. The smallest result I have ever gotten that I can recall is six, directly after maintenance by Blizzard and a related /censusplus prune 0 by me. Also, option 1) would have not made a huge difference, user would have just had to manually disable them from options if (s)he didn't want to census. I am, however very glad to hear that things seem to be progressing extremely well. Three /cheer to all who have been helping and a nice day to all!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bringoutyourdead
Forums Admin & general flunky


Joined: 07 Nov 2008
Posts: 600
Location: Silicon Valley
WR Updates: 7,092,047
bringoutyourdead WR Profile

PostPosted: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Saw something I liked.. so after a bit of thinking...

new CensusPlus command.

After you have run your census runs... and want to update your own character

/census me

code is in test now... to make sure I didn't break things with this addition.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bringoutyourdead
Forums Admin & general flunky


Joined: 07 Nov 2008
Posts: 600
Location: Silicon Valley
WR Updates: 7,092,047
bringoutyourdead WR Profile

PostPosted: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

well... since that works..

a standard census run will now end with a quick census of the current player.

so /census me won't be needed... unless you have stopped census runs.. and then level after that point.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    WarcraftRealms.com Forum Index -> General Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
Page 3 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
WarcraftRealms.com  


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group