WarcraftReamls.com
  FAQFAQ    SearchSearch    MemberlistMemberlist    UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
  ProfileProfile    Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages    Log inLog in 
Various elements not displaying (Sanna's bug thread)

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    WarcraftRealms.com Forum Index -> WarcraftRealms.com Bugs
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
SannaSK



Joined: 07 Sep 2005
Posts: 69

WR Updates: 418,020
SannaSK WR Profile

PostPosted: Fri Jun 07, 2013 2:26 pm    Post subject: Various elements not displaying (Sanna's bug thread) Reply with quote

You probably have more on-fire things to fix, but I didn't see a thread about this so I figured I'd make one.
When viewing a realm's page with no additional filters, so for example,
http://www.warcraftrealms.com/census.php?serverid=47
Several things are not displaying:
-- seven races instead of 13 or 14 (assuming that HordePanda and AlliancePanda are returned as two separate races?) (ETA: now displayed are Draenei, Dwarf, Gnome, Human, Night Elf, Tauren, Blood Elf, Goblin, Orc -- still missing are Worgen, Ally-Pandas, Troll, Horde-Panda, Undead. Suggestion: instead of having all 14 on a single row, what about splitting Ally and Horde into two separate boxes, stacked vertically?) ;
-- nine classes instead of ten (ETA: 'instead of eleven', also, this has been fixed);
-- some of the box-brackets around the level spread are still sized for a 20-70 level spread instead of 20-90 or 10-90 (ETA: removal of the box brackets fixes this issue);
-- also, when I mouse over the 'Warcraft Realms' element in the bar that makes the dropdown boxes, instead of seeing 'Logout [SannaSK]' and 'My WR Profile' as the first two options, I see 'Login' and 'Register', as though I were logged out. However, if I were to then go to any non-server-info page, I am still logged in. So I'm not actually logged out, it just looks like I am.

So like I said, none of this is critical and I'm sure you have bigger fires to stomp... but I'll just leave this here for when it gets to the top of your list ^_^. Thanks for all your hard work \o/.

- - - - - - -
June 14 - You know, I'll just hijack my own thread and leave any bug notes I find here... seems better than making multiple threads for Metalbeast to have to wade through...


Last edited by SannaSK on Fri Jun 14, 2013 10:09 am; edited 3 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
1974ER
Epic Censi


Joined: 07 Nov 2008
Posts: 729

WR Updates: 23,505,212
1974ER WR Profile

PostPosted: Fri Jun 07, 2013 3:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Minor late night nitpick... There are ELEVEN available classes, not 10.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SannaSK



Joined: 07 Sep 2005
Posts: 69

WR Updates: 418,020
SannaSK WR Profile

PostPosted: Fri Jun 07, 2013 3:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh right! Warlocks aren't showing either. But nobody plays a warlock anyway so there : ppppp
_________________
Censusing: Mostly Bronzebeard, Aggramar, Elune; sometimes Alleria, Icecrown, Scilla, Kel'Thuzad, Mal'Ganis, Draka, Staghelm, Nathrezim, Stonemaul.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bringoutyourdead
Forums Admin & general flunky


Joined: 07 Nov 2008
Posts: 587
Location: Silicon Valley
WR Updates: 7,092,047
bringoutyourdead WR Profile

PostPosted: Fri Jun 07, 2013 9:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is strange .. both Alliance and Horde seem to have no Warriors or Warlocks. This seems odd with >4000 and >6000 characters in the factions.

I changed the realms to a few that I census and then to show all realms..
I don't know if Rollie ever updated the display fields or not..

The all realms failed to show any of the last 2 xp races.. worgen, Goblin or Panda .. further testing shows that is must just be a lack of field place holders for the different races..

One of the things I did notice before, Rollie used the same male Panda for both factions.. this could be considered correct... however I am using the two philosophy leaders images in the addon so both panda factions can be displayed without having confusion when both factions are shown at the same time. It is convenient that one is male and the other is female.

Metalbeast.. I had sent Rollie the images .. if you don't find them on the server.. I can email them to you .. or you can find them in the addon in the skins directory as images 33 (horde) and 34 (alliance)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SannaSK



Joined: 07 Sep 2005
Posts: 69

WR Updates: 418,020
SannaSK WR Profile

PostPosted: Sat Jun 08, 2013 11:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ETA2 - aaaaaaaand ignore this entire thing. I refreshed Aggramar's server page just now (despite having done so multiple times over the course of checking and posting and checking again) and a bunch of data changed, so now this problem isn't a problem. I guess I just fell victim to the whole 'not everything is updated all the time' thing... the thing where the data on individual server pages is only changed, what, twice a day or something? I read that somewhere.

TLDR ignore this comment.
-----------------------------------------------------
[strike]Is
http://www.warcraftrealms.com/realmstats.php
accurately reading whatever thing in the database that it uses to determine what colors to apply to the A/H Activity Ratio Column? I noticed that for Aggramar, it says 2(yellow):1(green), but when you view
http://www.warcraftrealms.com/census.php?serverid=82
it says 60 (yellow) : 38 (red). Some specifics about these numbers will probably change by the time someone else looks at them, but I'm pretty sure that 38-red and 1-green are not jiving with each other. I don't really have the brain space to go through and check a bunch of servers to see if this is happening elsewhere... for the servers I census, Bronzebeard and Icecrown appear to be appropriately colored (at least, the realmstats page's colors matches what each server's census.php-serverid page says about colors), and Elune and Alleria are just red red red.

Again, not the biggest fire in the forest, but on the other hand, if something is going wonky somewhere, there might be more examples of this in the coming weeks, as more recently-taken censuses start pushing other servers into yellow and green territory. Also, if realmstats is reading/calculating something wrong, what about
http://www.warcraftrealms.com/mostwanted.php ?


ETA - I clicked through the other servers where realmstats showed any color other than red, and the rest of them seemed to match. So maybe the problem is more unique to Aggramar. Still... it's a bit strange ^_^ I'll keep my eye on it and see if it continues to happen.
[/strike]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SannaSK



Joined: 07 Sep 2005
Posts: 69

WR Updates: 418,020
SannaSK WR Profile

PostPosted: Sun Jun 09, 2013 6:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Also in the vein of the original post:
http://www.warcraftrealms.com/quickstats.php
can use some updating, eventually, as the newer races and classes are not displayed.
_________________
Censusing: Mostly Bronzebeard, Aggramar, Elune; sometimes Alleria, Icecrown, Scilla, Kel'Thuzad, Mal'Ganis, Draka, Staghelm, Nathrezim, Stonemaul.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bringoutyourdead
Forums Admin & general flunky


Joined: 07 Nov 2008
Posts: 587
Location: Silicon Valley
WR Updates: 7,092,047
bringoutyourdead WR Profile

PostPosted: Sun Jun 09, 2013 7:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Your talking about the problems of cache storage of data.?

We have the problem of pages not getting updated as soon as new data has been processed... and if I remember correctly these server pages are updated on a time schedule and not on a new data available basis.. (Rollie updated totals right away.. but updating all the break outs of Race/class...etc, takes time, killing performance on update processing.) Which is why the Server Submission page show current submission data for a realm and the realm page shows a count that is old. For example US-Hakkar at the time I type this has submissions of 41A:44H (which matches my censusPlus.lua datafile) and the server page shows 32A:40H. Yes I had my census taker do 9 census runs today while fishing and cooking fish at Crystal Lake. (I didn't feel like taking as much time on the horde side as I wanted to get on to the high pop servers I hit for census runs.)

We have the problem of ISP's improperly implementing cashe for their clients and not actually checking and updating from true source sites when clients request web pages. That use to be a big problem but most ISP's fixed that.. (or they go out of business.)
And the 3rd problem of not seeing updated web pages.. because local web browsers get improperly configured and fail to get and display source pages.. because they have the (older version) page in local browser cashe.
To fight this last problem (the only one we as users can directly work), I set my browser to not save cache data to hard drive... (only the default in ram memory storage when the program is running). If I see a potential problem, I shutdown the browser and restarted it which always starts with an empty cache. I also have at least one other browser which I normally never use.. except to check problem pages.

On the other hand.. there is a real problem with displaying data here at WR.com on the server pages.

I checked a server I happen to know I'm the only census taker.. and while the total counts appear to be correct and the number of census runs.
The display of races isn't correct.. truth to be told... I don't think Rollie ever did get to updating these pages for the new number of possible races and classes.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SannaSK



Joined: 07 Sep 2005
Posts: 69

WR Updates: 418,020
SannaSK WR Profile

PostPosted: Sun Jun 09, 2013 7:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I think Rollie had already fallen out by the time most of the new races+classes had shown up in the game, so that's to be expected. Mostly in this thread, I'm just trying to catalog things that I find that are not up to speed, so whenever Metalbeast has stomped out the big fires, he can come look at my list of little fires X D.
_________________
Censusing: Mostly Bronzebeard, Aggramar, Elune; sometimes Alleria, Icecrown, Scilla, Kel'Thuzad, Mal'Ganis, Draka, Staghelm, Nathrezim, Stonemaul.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bringoutyourdead
Forums Admin & general flunky


Joined: 07 Nov 2008
Posts: 587
Location: Silicon Valley
WR Updates: 7,092,047
bringoutyourdead WR Profile

PostPosted: Tue Jun 11, 2013 2:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I see that Metalbeast has been working this problem... Hakkar US now show me the full allotment of races.. using a left and right facing Panda.

but I think he needs to rethink a little... as it won't be that long before max level is reset to 95.. and then 100 Rolling Eyes Twisted Evil
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SannaSK



Joined: 07 Sep 2005
Posts: 69

WR Updates: 418,020
SannaSK WR Profile

PostPosted: Tue Jun 11, 2013 2:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I looked at Hakkar just now and I see 11... drae dorf gnom hum nelf panda-h worg belf gob orc pand-a. still missing tauren, troll, ud. I edited this sentence in to my original post a couple days ago but I'll restate it here:

"Suggestion: instead of having all 14 [races] on a single row, what about splitting Ally and Horde into two separate boxes, stacked vertically?"
That would solve the width problem, at least for the races.
_________________
Censusing: Mostly Bronzebeard, Aggramar, Elune; sometimes Alleria, Icecrown, Scilla, Kel'Thuzad, Mal'Ganis, Draka, Staghelm, Nathrezim, Stonemaul.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SannaSK



Joined: 07 Sep 2005
Posts: 69

WR Updates: 418,020
SannaSK WR Profile

PostPosted: Thu Jun 13, 2013 3:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

http://www.warcraftrealms.com/realmstats.php
None of the 'sort by' links, such as 'online', 'alliance', 'horde', overall', are actually causing the page to display data in anything other than alphabetical-by-realm. I would say I don't mind, except that
http://www.warcraftrealms.com/eu_realmstats.php
the EU verson's sorting is working, and now I'm jealous X D.

So anyway, if the sorting doesn't matter, the links should go away, but if the sorting is supposed to work, then, that can go on the tiny-fire to-do list.
_________________
Censusing: Mostly Bronzebeard, Aggramar, Elune; sometimes Alleria, Icecrown, Scilla, Kel'Thuzad, Mal'Ganis, Draka, Staghelm, Nathrezim, Stonemaul.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SannaSK



Joined: 07 Sep 2005
Posts: 69

WR Updates: 418,020
SannaSK WR Profile

PostPosted: Fri Jun 14, 2013 10:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The short version of the backstory is that I've had (among others) Mal'Ganis' census.php page
http://www.warcraftrealms.com/census.php?serverid=26
open since about 8pm EST on Thurs Jun 13. The censii count on the page was displayed as 20:22. Despite refreshing it at least three times between 8pm Thurs night and 10am Fri morning, it still read 20:22, both numbers red.

Around noon Fri Jun 14, I went and looked at realmstats.php. Suddenly it's telling me that Mal'Ganis shows red:green numbers under the A/H Activity column. So I go and refresh MG's census.php, and suddenly instead of 20:22, it shows 22:122.

Is this... physically possible? It takes like an hour to census MG Horde-side during prime time (I made that mistake once... not something I'm likely to repeat... I only census the Ally side of MG and the Horde side of KT, I'd rather hit up more servers than waste an hour looking at one server-faction...). Is it possible that in the last 15 hours (being the last time I hard-opened MG's page and not just refreshed), someone(s) ran one hundred censii of MG-H? Is the database messing up somehow? Something has gone sideways somewhere.... cache/refresh/non-dynamic pages aside (also putting aside the value question of "is a metric ton of censii in a very very short time frame even going to give you worthwhile data? all you're gathering is information about a very limited time frame, and the point of this site is to gather data over a long time frame"), how can one server gain a hundred censii in a day?

I mean, sure, maybe someone's trying to pad their Updated Characters number or something by censusing a high-pop realm multiple times.... but it's the one-hundred-censii-in-less-than-a-day jump that's making me boggle. If you have the time to do that kind of censusing, go census a MostWanted realm or twenty... you'll do WR more good. #Sanna's-value-judgement-there.

TLDR - Metalbeast, can (and by 'can' I 40% mean 'would you please and thank you' but also 60% mean 'is it even possible for') you to look somehow and make sure this is legit data? I don't know how it could be non-legit.... I just... one hundred censii! Less than 24 hours! I cannot stop boggling.
_________________
Censusing: Mostly Bronzebeard, Aggramar, Elune; sometimes Alleria, Icecrown, Scilla, Kel'Thuzad, Mal'Ganis, Draka, Staghelm, Nathrezim, Stonemaul.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fett



Joined: 01 Nov 2008
Posts: 50

WR Updates: 835,864
Fett WR Profile

PostPosted: Fri Jun 14, 2013 3:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Perhaps it was from someone who does not upload often? That data may be from censuses run over the course of the last thirty days that they just got around to uploading.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Padanfain
Updater Extraordinaire


Joined: 18 Dec 2010
Posts: 128
Location: Shadar Logoth
WR Updates: 14,952,888
Padanfain WR Profile

PostPosted: Fri Jun 14, 2013 7:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cross realm zones might be to blame. If I see one MG toon in a crz that could possibly be counted as a realm update. Then I census another realm and see a different MG toon, 2nd realm update. 50 people census both factions of their realm and each sees a toon or two per faction from MG, poof, 100 realm updates?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bringoutyourdead
Forums Admin & general flunky


Joined: 07 Nov 2008
Posts: 587
Location: Silicon Valley
WR Updates: 7,092,047
bringoutyourdead WR Profile

PostPosted: Fri Jun 14, 2013 10:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No that isn't the issue.

Counts of realm updates is triggered by the TimesPlus section of the database, which is only updated at the end of each census run and is tied to the realm which you logged in on.

If the following existed
only 2 realms
realm 1 has one Alliance character
realm 2 has one Horde character
both characters were in the same CRZone standing side by side. (locked in perpetual PVP battleground {maybe})

The realm 1 character was the one who ran CensusPlus only on his realm
10 Census runs happen.

Realm 1 will display 10 Alliance updates and 1 character found
Realm 2 will display no updates but 1 character found.

Most likely the Alliance character will be suck at the same level
and the Horde character will show level updates. (Assuming the player is paying attention to winning the battle.. and the Alliance guy is watching his CensusPlus verbose wondering what hit him.) Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SannaSK



Joined: 07 Sep 2005
Posts: 69

WR Updates: 418,020
SannaSK WR Profile

PostPosted: Fri Jun 14, 2013 10:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bringoutyourdead wrote:

Realm 1 will display 10 Alliance updates and 1 character found
Realm 2 will display no updates but 1 character found.


I was wondering how some of these realms had 'characters seen' but no recorded updates! Thank you for explaining this, I've been meaning to ask how CensusPlus dealt with the whole 'seeing chars from other realms' thing.

I suppose Fett's theory of "one person who lives on MG-H anyway, was regularly censusing over the last month, and only just now uploaded for the first time in a very long time" is what I'll have to go with... it's the only thing that makes the 'nothing nothing nothing one hundred' thing make any sense....

Altho, my bias is that I want to upload at least once a day... I want my file processed and my numbers added up! haha X D. And I want to refresh the census.php's of the realms I census and watch their numbers go up too X D ah well. Slowly but surely.
_________________
Censusing: Mostly Bronzebeard, Aggramar, Elune; sometimes Alleria, Icecrown, Scilla, Kel'Thuzad, Mal'Ganis, Draka, Staghelm, Nathrezim, Stonemaul.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Padanfain
Updater Extraordinaire


Joined: 18 Dec 2010
Posts: 128
Location: Shadar Logoth
WR Updates: 14,952,888
Padanfain WR Profile

PostPosted: Fri Jun 14, 2013 11:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bringoutyourdead wrote:

No that isn't the issue.

Counts of realm updates is triggered by the TimesPlus section of....

Ah ok. Shiny! Very Happy

bringoutyourdead wrote:
Padanfain wrote:

A curiosity... Will the single toon submission from a cross realm sighting give
an update toward the 100 updates per 30 days needed to make that realm
census 'reliable data?'

that is a Rollie question but from what I've been told that might just be the case.
the site doesn't have any way to tell if you did full census runs or just started and killed right away and only picked up a few. as far as the cross realms are treated in the client file which is uploaded they are just standard realm/faction updates.

Another curiosity. Was that a Rollie fix, Rollie made it shiny in the first place or a Metalbeast fix? Either way, good to know CRZ isn't fouling up the works. /cheer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SannaSK



Joined: 07 Sep 2005
Posts: 69

WR Updates: 418,020
SannaSK WR Profile

PostPosted: Sun Jun 16, 2013 4:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, another bug... or something.

I'm noticing that pretty much all the pages on WR have that 'mouse over drop down menu' bar at the top of them.... and on MOST of the pages, when compared to each other, the menu is not acting the same. I mentioned up at the top the thing about 'it says 'log in' when i'm already logged in', but there's more to it than that.

When I first saw a change in the content of the menu drop-down options, I originally assumed that there was a certain stand-alone file being called (ie, hypothetically, index.php is calling menu.html) and that you're editing the stand-alone. But now I begin to wonder if every different .php either has its own hard-coded menu or it's own menu-file that's being called. I've worked with php a tad in the past (nothing nearly so robust and complex as WR must be), just enough to appreciate what it must be like to look at these raw files and go 'what on earth does this part even do...'

so the TLDR of this bug is, 'the menus are all different', even though that's not, in essence, an 'actual bug' and more just 'some coding that can be cleaned up at a later date'. But I'm writing down everything I see, and I saw it, so now it's written.
_________________
Censusing: Mostly Bronzebeard, Aggramar, Elune; sometimes Alleria, Icecrown, Scilla, Kel'Thuzad, Mal'Ganis, Draka, Staghelm, Nathrezim, Stonemaul.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SannaSK



Joined: 07 Sep 2005
Posts: 69

WR Updates: 418,020
SannaSK WR Profile

PostPosted: Sun Jun 16, 2013 4:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

(Also, throwing this out there, MG-H has gained another ~100 censii in the last 48 hours. Someone must be SOOPER SRS about their playtime and their census quota....)
_________________
Censusing: Mostly Bronzebeard, Aggramar, Elune; sometimes Alleria, Icecrown, Scilla, Kel'Thuzad, Mal'Ganis, Draka, Staghelm, Nathrezim, Stonemaul.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bringoutyourdead
Forums Admin & general flunky


Joined: 07 Nov 2008
Posts: 587
Location: Silicon Valley
WR Updates: 7,092,047
bringoutyourdead WR Profile

PostPosted: Fri Jul 26, 2013 6:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yea! team America's-Oceanic minimum 30 day census counts have now climbed up to 7 for all US Data Center realms! Apparently team EU is on their summer vacations. Wink

Looking at server and activity pages now that we have data again.. I noticed the following little problem:

Using for example http://warcraftrealms.com/census.php?serverid=68
census 10A : 7H pop 590A :1407H

Both still shows that coding updates for this type of page is still in process (I would suggest expanding the size of the box I think most people have gone to higher resolution displays since Rollie did the initial coding.)
Both factions needs room for 14 .. and maybe more for future expansions
It would be nice to have the number of levels expanded to match what is stored in the data base... with expansion up to level 100 (almost certain)

Selecting Alliance or Horde leads to interesting results!

Apparently 2 Horde Pandaren have aligned themselves with the Alliance (acting as spy's?) [ 8 races shown with both Panda-A(40) and Panda-H(2)]

Selecting Horde returns 8 races again with Panda-A(100) and Panda-H(2).
This isn't a browser caching issue as the Icons get shuffled on faction change.

Not sure why there are more Alliance Pandaren in the Horde faction then in the Alliance faction... maybe they are all drunk?

Or maybe it is a page creation issue since there are only 7 races maximum in either faction.

Trying a well censused realm http://warcraftrealms.com/census.php?serverid=642
Census 132A :114H Pop 5492A : 5412H well balanced

The extra phantom race isn't displayed... but the tag and Icon for Pandaren-A stays for both factions only the population numbers change.

By the way I viewed all of this with current Firefox and {shudder}stock current IE. no difference in layout or display.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    WarcraftRealms.com Forum Index -> WarcraftRealms.com Bugs All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
WarcraftRealms.com  


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group