WarcraftReamls.com
  FAQFAQ    SearchSearch    MemberlistMemberlist    UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
  ProfileProfile    Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages    Log inLog in 
A better way to get more accurate guild info uploaded here?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    WarcraftRealms.com Forum Index -> Suggestions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Christynemarie



Joined: 09 Mar 2007
Posts: 4
Location: Washington DC
WR Updates: 32,046
Christynemarie WR Profile

PostPosted: Tue May 01, 2007 4:50 pm    Post subject: A better way to get more accurate guild info uploaded here? Reply with quote

The current method this site uses to collect data leaves too much room for error and inconsistencies.

Is there anyway to use a mod like Guild Portal uses to upload data for specific guilds? To update my guild info for them I downloaded thier mod, open up my guild panel in game, type /gpupdate and it takes a snapshot, makes a .lua file just like wcr here and I upload it to my guild website just like I do here. The difference is it shows all of my almost 450 guild members unlike the 225 shown here, and the guildies are all active, the longest inactive is 40 days. This site also has errors showing current guild members as former members who /gquit I guess it thinks. I checked and these members have never quit and rejoined but remained constant in the guild.

The new site http://armory.worldofwarcraft.com/ could also be accessed somehow too and integrated here. It has the most current info within 24 hours. I've tried very hard to make info on my guild here up to date but it never seems to happen.

I like this site but it really needs to find a way to get more current info that it does at the moment.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Skyfire
Trolling Enforcement


Joined: 18 Aug 2005
Posts: 746
Location: New Jersey
WR Updates: 44,279
Skyfire WR Profile

PostPosted: Tue May 01, 2007 9:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rollie's working on integrating armory atm Smile. Give him some time; he's quite the busy man.
_________________
Admin on WoWWiki
Moderator, Blogger on Wowhead
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
xpolockx



Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 783
Location: Lynchburg, VA
WR Updates: 4,175,365
xpolockx WR Profile

PostPosted: Tue May 01, 2007 10:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There's already some integrated armory support here, which is nice. Guild info should be decently accurate if regular census snapshots are being taken - often if your guild info is off by a large amount it means that not that many people are taking snapshots when most of the guild members are on. Sometimes blizzard's guild reporting is off, so sometimes you get the member shown as an ex-member when they never quit the guild. This happens often in guilds with 500+ members. It's easily rectified if regular census snapshots are being taken.

Really, it all boils down to census snapshots. I'm sure if Rollie gets some time he can explain it better Wink
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
Christynemarie



Joined: 09 Mar 2007
Posts: 4
Location: Washington DC
WR Updates: 32,046
Christynemarie WR Profile

PostPosted: Wed May 02, 2007 10:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:

often if your guild info is off by a large amount it means that not that many people are taking snapshots when most of the guild members are on.


Yeah..I do believe I'm the only one taking Census in the alliance side of my realm Confused
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Rollie
Site Admin


Joined: 28 Nov 2004
Posts: 5374
Location: Austin, TX
WR Updates: 480,131
Rollie WR Profile

PostPosted: Wed May 02, 2007 10:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm going to be adding the ability to update your guild roster directly from the armory in the near future. In the meantime, if you're seeing your info not update correctly after submitting data that you collected on your realm, then that could also be a problem. I'll try to look into that as well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
xpolockx



Joined: 10 Aug 2005
Posts: 783
Location: Lynchburg, VA
WR Updates: 4,175,365
xpolockx WR Profile

PostPosted: Wed May 02, 2007 3:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Christynemarie wrote:

Yeah..I do believe I'm the only one taking Census in the alliance side of my realm Confused


Yeah, I think I'm the only one in my guild who does updates here to WCR, but I do them quite often so I usually have it covered. I'm sure there's at least one other person taking census on horde side on my server, although alliance side is lacking as of late and I can't do anything about it Sad

Rollie, good to hear about the incoming guild import feature, I think that will help a lot of the guild complaints here Smile
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
Christynemarie



Joined: 09 Mar 2007
Posts: 4
Location: Washington DC
WR Updates: 32,046
Christynemarie WR Profile

PostPosted: Sat May 05, 2007 10:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm really exited to hear about all the upcoming improvents and look forward to checking them out. Any ETAs?

Thanks for the replies!
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    WarcraftRealms.com Forum Index -> Suggestions All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
WarcraftRealms.com  


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group