WarcraftReamls.com
  FAQFAQ    SearchSearch    MemberlistMemberlist    UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
  ProfileProfile    Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages    Log inLog in 
Is Census+ and warcraftrealms dead?
Goto page 1, 2  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    WarcraftRealms.com Forum Index -> General Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Crazy Swede



Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 9
Location: Sweden
WR Updates: 39
Crazy Swede WR Profile

PostPosted: Sat Nov 07, 2009 11:21 pm    Post subject: Is Census+ and warcraftrealms dead? Reply with quote

How could this happen? I used to love to know all the statistics and all that. But Census+ are beginning to be waaaayyyy out of date now.

Will you ever start up this project again? Making Census+ up-to-date and giving killing fields ability to scan Isle of Conquest and all that or will it be left to die? Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hybuir
Gear Dependent Squirrel
Gear Dependent Squirrel


Joined: 06 Sep 2005
Posts: 1534
Location: Austin, TX
WR Updates: 2,583,637
Hybuir WR Profile

PostPosted: Sat Nov 07, 2009 11:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

c+ still serves it's purpose, just needs an updated version. i think everything else is on 'the list'
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
1974ER
Epic Censi


Joined: 07 Nov 2008
Posts: 729

WR Updates: 23,549,487
1974ER WR Profile

PostPosted: Sun Nov 08, 2009 3:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I fully agree with Hybuir. The fact that Rollie has a lot of IRL obligations does not mean the death of Census+ or Warcraftrealms. In fact, looking at certain indicators, I would say the censusing is going well. There are already several people on or near the montly lists, who have made a personal monthly bests in just about 7 days. The number of registered users is still growing.

When I started almost exactly a year ago, having multiple 0s on the most wanted lists was almost a rule. Nowadays, it mostly happens if there is a glitch in the submissions processing or the site itself and both of those are luckily very rare or if several submission makers who like fighting against 0s (like myself Wink ) are away longer simultaneously.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Crazy Swede



Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 9
Location: Sweden
WR Updates: 39
Crazy Swede WR Profile

PostPosted: Mon Nov 09, 2009 10:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes but I am just wondering if the mods will get their update? Mods that stops getting patched is just a matter of time untill it totally stops working or spams a lot of LUA Error windows.

This would be a shame because it's a really cool feature to know statistics.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EpikPhailure



Joined: 09 Jun 2009
Posts: 60
Location: Havre Montana
WR Updates: 742,121
EpikPhailure WR Profile

PostPosted: Tue Nov 10, 2009 7:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would like to see some more people brought into this project and make changes to the addon and website together.
I step up and volunteer.

There are many features I would like to see in the website added on. I also see things on the website that are listed as something that would like to be implemented but have not been done so.

Also with the Addon I would like to see some searchable in it, be able to track more data, etc.

So please add in more people to help get this kick started.

IMHO this addon and website is getting a high risk of becoming stale and loosing interest.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Crazy Swede



Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 9
Location: Sweden
WR Updates: 39
Crazy Swede WR Profile

PostPosted: Wed Nov 11, 2009 8:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, allthough I doubt Rollie would let anybody else to take over Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Greywise



Joined: 25 Feb 2007
Posts: 1

WR Updates: 54,951
Greywise WR Profile

PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 8:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My realm Turalyon EU is dropping hard also again.. seems there is only a few of us contributing.

It's a shame really. As a recruiting officer I like to look up people's history and last guild to ask their ex-guild some questions and so on.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EpikPhailure



Joined: 09 Jun 2009
Posts: 60
Location: Havre Montana
WR Updates: 742,121
EpikPhailure WR Profile

PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 9:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Crazy Swede wrote:
Yeah, allthough I doubt Rollie would let anybody else to take over Confused

I never said take over,
I just would like to see more people brought onto the team since Rollie seems to have important IRL things going on.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
1974ER
Epic Censi


Joined: 07 Nov 2008
Posts: 729

WR Updates: 23,549,487
1974ER WR Profile

PostPosted: Thu Nov 12, 2009 12:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Greywise, since you mentioned you are a recruiting officer... That means you are member of a guild. Though it mostly likely will cut down your personal submission figures, you really should ask that at least some members of your guild assist you in information gathering, in this case by running Censusplus. Number of people required to keep just one single faction well covered isn't very high. I would estimate three very active guild members would be enough to give a reasonably good coverage of your faction. Or even both factions of your realm, if some level 1 "censusalts" are created.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Crazy Swede



Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 9
Location: Sweden
WR Updates: 39
Crazy Swede WR Profile

PostPosted: Fri Nov 13, 2009 4:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I allso used to contribute with new data and allso tried making friends of mine help out with uploading. But the moment most find out how heavily out-dated Census is, it is hard to make people still download it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hybuir
Gear Dependent Squirrel
Gear Dependent Squirrel


Joined: 06 Sep 2005
Posts: 1534
Location: Austin, TX
WR Updates: 2,583,637
Hybuir WR Profile

PostPosted: Fri Nov 13, 2009 8:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

i hear "heavily out-dated" but there arent any errors popping up or conflicts with the game.... i don't see it.
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
Crazy Swede



Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 9
Location: Sweden
WR Updates: 39
Crazy Swede WR Profile

PostPosted: Fri Nov 13, 2009 4:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe it's only because I run Windows 7. But when I...
/target - I get LUA Error
Exit wow - it hangs up
/who - I get LUA Error (only the addon itself seems able to do the who-scanning)

To make sure it's not any other addon I uninstalled all other addons, cache, WDB and WTF folder and did a clean installation. Those errors/issues would still persist to exist.

Perhaps this only happens to Win7 - users. But a fresh update would probably solve all this.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
EpikPhailure



Joined: 09 Jun 2009
Posts: 60
Location: Havre Montana
WR Updates: 742,121
EpikPhailure WR Profile

PostPosted: Fri Nov 13, 2009 4:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I would like some input on rollie on this thread please.
I am starting to loose faith in this project.
/rollie signal
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Fugazi



Joined: 26 Dec 2005
Posts: 5
Location: Poland
WR Updates: 501,744
Fugazi WR Profile

PostPosted: Sat Nov 14, 2009 7:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There are conflicts. For example when I started using Census on WOTLK release again it would drop my fps. When I tried lately it conflicted with Recount so that when Census is enabled, Recount won't record any data (combat log won't show any also).

All in all this project could really use new blood to kick back again. To make more people use it, or use it more often it needs to work silently, not affect performance and not causing conflicts or errors.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Hybuir
Gear Dependent Squirrel
Gear Dependent Squirrel


Joined: 06 Sep 2005
Posts: 1534
Location: Austin, TX
WR Updates: 2,583,637
Hybuir WR Profile

PostPosted: Sat Nov 14, 2009 5:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the /target , exit, and who's are not reported issues, neither is the drop in framerates... I just put in a fresh install (see other thread) and it seems to go flawlessly!
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
Rollie
Site Admin


Joined: 28 Nov 2004
Posts: 5374
Location: Austin, TX
WR Updates: 480,131
Rollie WR Profile

PostPosted: Sun Nov 15, 2009 10:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah, those are all issues I am definitely unaware of.

I will admit, the mod needs to have the TOC updated, but it should work just fine as it is.

Unfortunately I am getting completely hammered IRL. The likes I have not seen in many years...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Fugazi



Joined: 26 Dec 2005
Posts: 5
Location: Poland
WR Updates: 501,744
Fugazi WR Profile

PostPosted: Mon Nov 16, 2009 6:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

As for FPS drop keep in mind it was one year ago at WOTLK launch. I played a little with my alt recently and haven't noticed this problem anymore so it might be fixed now.

However there are two issues I encountered recently:
1) I enabled Census on my main and went to ToC25 raid. I noticed my combatlog stopped working (keep in mind Census was just loaded, not parsing anything) - I logged off disabled it and my combat log came back. I haven't tested it again later in raid because I upload logs so I cannot afford trial and error on this. I did however quick test on my alt (solo) and it worked fine, will try to check what is problem later.
2) On my AH alt I had /who window popping, this is most likely due to conflict with part of Auctioneer - Auc-Util-FixAH - which Works around a paging issue when viewing items in the Auction House "browse" frame. Simply forces all new searches to show the results beginning on the first page. Not big deal you can disable this part or you can pause census while browsing AH.

Also I think feeling of CensusPlus being outdated is because it uses old school UI along with minimap icon. Those days there is place in game menu for addons. It also is quite heavy (10mb+ memory here) compared to other addons, maybe there could be a way to not load whole database when you don't want to search in it or something but just update some characters in it. Another thing is uploading data, as now we upload whole database again and again to parse which is inefficient - for both uploaders and server side parser - good thing that there is at least uniuploader with gzip support. I wish there could be a tool like wowhead one (incremental uploads).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Rollie
Site Admin


Joined: 28 Nov 2004
Posts: 5374
Location: Austin, TX
WR Updates: 480,131
Rollie WR Profile

PostPosted: Mon Nov 16, 2009 9:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I will have to look into those issues you mention. I have never had problems with combat log, or with Auctioneer. There is really no reason that those AddOns would be impacted unless they mess with the /who query process.

As for the memory footprint, there isn't really anything that can be done here. That is just the nature of the beast. If you don't like having a bigger database, prune regularly.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
EpikPhailure



Joined: 09 Jun 2009
Posts: 60
Location: Havre Montana
WR Updates: 742,121
EpikPhailure WR Profile

PostPosted: Mon Nov 16, 2009 9:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rollie wrote:
As for the memory footprint, there isn't really anything that can be done here. That is just the nature of the beast. If you don't like having a bigger database, prune regularly.


I purge my database once a week, after I upload the census data. Aside from loosing that data of my realm (which I really dont use, I only do the counts for the website). Am I causing any problems for the website by doing this? i.e. all the "new" views on my end causing extra server load on the website end? Or does it store if a toon is new or not in the LUA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Crazy Swede



Joined: 24 Aug 2009
Posts: 9
Location: Sweden
WR Updates: 39
Crazy Swede WR Profile

PostPosted: Mon Nov 16, 2009 9:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The big question still remains to be answered. When do you think you can update Census+?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    WarcraftRealms.com Forum Index -> General Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Page 1 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
WarcraftRealms.com  


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group