WarcraftReamls.com
  FAQFAQ    SearchSearch    MemberlistMemberlist    UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
  ProfileProfile    Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages    Log inLog in 
EASY question...I did try to search, I promise.

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    WarcraftRealms.com Forum Index -> General
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
FSB



Joined: 04 Feb 2012
Posts: 1

WR Updates: 12,363
FSB WR Profile

PostPosted: Sun Feb 19, 2012 2:16 pm    Post subject: EASY question...I did try to search, I promise. Reply with quote

Currently using Census+5.0.2

Is there a need, or is it more accurate to take a census from different locations around my realm? So far, I've been taking a census 3 times a day, on the same character but from the same city.

Additionally, since using 5.0.2 (just today)...lol, the Alliance side census seems to take FOREVER, as in, literally, 30 - 40 minutes with multiple queries. Just to get through "Draenei" classes is the worst, with upwards to 24 queries. It's almost as if it's "looping" itself in queries. On the horde side, I get about 17 queries total...all races, all classes. Is this intended? What I mean is:

Alliance seems VERY in depth. -r -c -lev. Horde seems more of a "gloss over". I understand that if the -r -c doesn't exist it will shorten the process...but man, the Alliance just take forever on Stormrage.

Lastly, should I physically purge all Census information from the Census+ folder after the update?

Thanks in advance for any and all information.

*Edit...oh yeah, does Census+ work while minimized?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wynta



Joined: 02 Dec 2007
Posts: 23
Location: UK
WR Updates: 317,122
Wynta WR Profile

PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2012 3:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hello!

I'm not the census guru but I'll attempt to answer a little Smile

Firstly, you don't need to go to other cities, it's realm-wide, apart from when you are in battlegrounds. and yes you can run minimized Smile


So far as I understand it: The 'who' query will only process 49 (or 50?) characters in each query. the addon works by saying 'ok there were more than 50 results, so we'll break it down some more'.
For example, it first asks for level 85 warriors. if there are more than 50, it splits it by race (level 85 gnome warriors), and if there are still more it splits by name (level 85 gnome warriors with 'a' , 'b', etc)

this means there are a lot more queries to run on a high populated server; and this is likely what's causing your alliance pop to take longer to process than horde.

the actual results are quite quick to process, but there's a frequency limit on the queries to stop blizzard panicking about addon spam or something Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Wynta



Joined: 02 Dec 2007
Posts: 23
Location: UK
WR Updates: 317,122
Wynta WR Profile

PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2012 3:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

oh, and yes you can purge after uploading data if you wish; but you don't have to unless the file is getting massive.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FuxieDK



Joined: 22 May 2008
Posts: 454
Location: Copenhagen, DK
WR Updates: 2,594,210
FuxieDK WR Profile

PostPosted: Tue Feb 21, 2012 12:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The truth, Wynta speaks..

The 49 toon limit on /who is a limit Blizzard have put in.. It might have made sense 7 years ago with slower hardware, and much less players, but today, it's very annoying..

My personal guess, is that, if limit was increased to 100 (and Census modified to support it), you could cut the census-time on high-population servers by ATLEAST 80%.

E.g. Outland-EU can easily take 50 minutes, in prime time, could probably be done in 10 minutes..
_________________
Doing census on various servers Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Preferra



Joined: 14 Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Location: Ravenholdt
WR Updates: 17,713
Preferra WR Profile

PostPosted: Wed Feb 29, 2012 3:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just tagging on to this thread, a bit off-topic, but hoping not to hi-jack it:

I play Alliance only and have been collecting for some time now. Do I also need to make and logon to a horde char to get a census from both sides?

I'm asking because the realm data suggest that Alliance outnumbers Horde by 3 to 2 which is not my experience - more likely it's the other way round...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FuxieDK



Joined: 22 May 2008
Posts: 454
Location: Copenhagen, DK
WR Updates: 2,594,210
FuxieDK WR Profile

PostPosted: Thu Mar 01, 2012 12:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Preferra wrote:
I play Alliance only and have been collecting for some time now. Do I also need to make and logon to a horde char to get a census from both sides?
Sadly, yes..
_________________
Doing census on various servers Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
TwiZt



Joined: 22 Aug 2005
Posts: 7
Location: United States!
WR Updates: 647,902
TwiZt WR Profile

PostPosted: Thu Mar 01, 2012 9:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

FuxieDK wrote:
The truth, Wynta speaks..

The 49 toon limit on /who is a limit Blizzard have put in.. It might have made sense 7 years ago with slower hardware, and much less players, but today, it's very annoying..

My personal guess, is that, if limit was increased to 100 (and Census modified to support it), you could cut the census-time on high-population servers by ATLEAST 80%.

E.g. Outland-EU can easily take 50 minutes, in prime time, could probably be done in 10 minutes..


I totally wish they would do this. I play on Illidan-US and a prime time census can take well over an hour most nights lol.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Preferra



Joined: 14 Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Location: Ravenholdt
WR Updates: 17,713
Preferra WR Profile

PostPosted: Sun Mar 04, 2012 7:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

FuxieDK wrote:
Preferra wrote:
I play Alliance only and have been collecting for some time now. Do I also need to make and logon to a horde char to get a census from both sides?
Sadly, yes..
Thank you for your answer. What must be done, must be done Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    WarcraftRealms.com Forum Index -> General All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
WarcraftRealms.com  


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group