WarcraftReamls.com
  FAQFAQ    SearchSearch    MemberlistMemberlist    UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
  ProfileProfile    Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages    Log inLog in 
Announcing CensusPlus UI Mod!

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    WarcraftRealms.com Forum Index -> News and Announcements
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Rollie
Site Admin


Joined: 28 Nov 2004
Posts: 5374
Location: Austin, TX
WR Updates: 480,131
Rollie WR Profile

PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2005 12:46 am    Post subject: Announcing CensusPlus UI Mod! Reply with quote

After talking with the original creator of the Census UI mod and after he encouraged me to do so, I began working on modified version of the Census UI mod. I call it CensusPlus and it adds functionality and features above and beyond what the original Census UI Mod provides.

Here you can find the info on the new mod:

<p><b>DOWNLOAD</b>
<p><a href="http://www.warcraftrealms.com/censusmod/CensusPlus.zip">http://www.warcraftrealms.com/censusmod/CensusPlus.zip</a>


<p><b>INTRODUCTION</b>

<p>CensusPlus came about due to requested changes and desired options
not present in the original Census UI Mod by Ian Pieragostini.

<p>I spoke with Ian (the creator of the original Census UI mod) and he has lost interest in World of Warcraft modding
and encouraged me to modify the Census Mod to my liking. Thus I
have done so.

<p>CensusPlus offers many features above and beyond what the original Census
UI mod provided. Here follows a list of added features:

<ul>
<li>Abilty to minimize the main census window
which provides you the abilty to actually play while a census
is being taken</li>
<li>Ability for the Friends panel to be automatically closed after
each /who is sent to the server. This keeps the UI free of
the main Census window and the /who window</li>
<li>Ability to pause and unpause the current census</li>
<li>Ability to stop the current census in progress</li>
<li>Added a /censusdate command which allows the user to place a
date timestamp on all characters that are found during census's
taken that day -- This helps facilitate greater accuracy in
results when census data is uploaded to <a href="http://www.warcraftrealms.com">http://www.warcraftrealms.com</a></li>
<li>GameTime timestamp added when characters are viewed which will be
used by <a href="http://www.warcraftrealms.com">http://www.warcraftrealms.com</a> if your data is uploaded</li>
</ul>

I am very thankful that Ian gave me his blessing in releasing my own version of the mod and also very thankful to Ian for providing such a wonderful mod to begin with.

<p>If you have any requests, comments, or suggestions, please post in the forums
<a href="http://www.warcraftrealms.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=8">here</a>.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
blakogre
Guest







PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2005 10:50 am    Post subject: Census+ vs. Census Reply with quote

I have 2400 horde logged on dunemaul with the old census tool -- is the new Census+ compatible, or will i start the collection process all over?
Back to top
Rollie
Site Admin


Joined: 28 Nov 2004
Posts: 5374
Location: Austin, TX
WR Updates: 480,131
Rollie WR Profile

PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2005 12:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

CensusPlus keeps it's own tracked information. This was done in order to not impact the original Census users and their data. Unfortunately this means that the data is not compatible and all new collection data will have to be processed.

I may have a work around for this though. Stay tuned and I might have a way to get around this problem.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
heartless_



Joined: 09 Jan 2005
Posts: 134

WR Updates: 182,172
heartless_ WR Profile

PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2005 12:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So no more purging required? Or will we need to do the /datestamp each time we run one?
_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rollie
Site Admin


Joined: 28 Nov 2004
Posts: 5374
Location: Austin, TX
WR Updates: 480,131
Rollie WR Profile

PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2005 1:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No purging is required, but it does create more accurate results if you do a /censusdate each day.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Rollie
Site Admin


Joined: 28 Nov 2004
Posts: 5374
Location: Austin, TX
WR Updates: 480,131
Rollie WR Profile

PostPosted: Tue Jan 11, 2005 9:40 pm    Post subject: Re: Census+ vs. Census Reply with quote

blakogre wrote:
I have 2400 horde logged on dunemaul with the old census tool -- is the new Census+ compatible, or will i start the collection process all over?


Well, I'm proud to say that the newest version has a method to import your original Census information. Just grab the latest version and type /censusimport to import your original Census data into the CensusPlus mod.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
heartless_



Joined: 09 Jan 2005
Posts: 134

WR Updates: 182,172
heartless_ WR Profile

PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2005 8:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So the timestamp when it does a /who does not record the date?
_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rollie
Site Admin


Joined: 28 Nov 2004
Posts: 5374
Location: Austin, TX
WR Updates: 480,131
Rollie WR Profile

PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2005 9:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unfortunately not. There is no way to get the date from within the game other than asking the user to input it.

If you do input the date, then it will datestamp the entries you collect/see that day.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
heartless_



Joined: 09 Jan 2005
Posts: 134

WR Updates: 182,172
heartless_ WR Profile

PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2005 11:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can't you force the "Take Census" button to do a /datestamp or whatever the command is? So everytime you press Take it automatically does it for you.
_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rollie
Site Admin


Joined: 28 Nov 2004
Posts: 5374
Location: Austin, TX
WR Updates: 480,131
Rollie WR Profile

PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2005 11:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is no API provided that returns the date. There is only the ability to get the time. So the only way to get the date into the census data is to have it entered by the user.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
heartless_



Joined: 09 Jan 2005
Posts: 134

WR Updates: 182,172
heartless_ WR Profile

PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2005 11:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmmm interesting... I would of thought that would of been something standard :/
_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rollie
Site Admin


Joined: 28 Nov 2004
Posts: 5374
Location: Austin, TX
WR Updates: 480,131
Rollie WR Profile

PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2005 11:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You would think so =)

For some reason, Blizzard has specifically excluded this function. I'm not really sure why, but oh well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
heartless_



Joined: 09 Jan 2005
Posts: 134

WR Updates: 182,172
heartless_ WR Profile

PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2005 11:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe they just haven't been advised of it? Tried talking with Blizzard yet?
_________________


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rollie
Site Admin


Joined: 28 Nov 2004
Posts: 5374
Location: Austin, TX
WR Updates: 480,131
Rollie WR Profile

PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2005 2:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have only ever seen Blizz reply to a post about the datestamp once and they said they had no plans to support a datestamp.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
znog



Joined: 02 Jan 2005
Posts: 39

WR Updates: 0
znog WR Profile

PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2005 4:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rollie wrote:
There is no API provided that returns the date. There is only the ability to get the time. So the only way to get the date into the census data is to have it entered by the user.
why not using the create date of the file ? Is this at all possible ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rollie
Site Admin


Joined: 28 Nov 2004
Posts: 5374
Location: Austin, TX
WR Updates: 480,131
Rollie WR Profile

PostPosted: Wed Jan 12, 2005 4:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If the user does not enter a /censusdate then I just use the date when the census is submitted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    WarcraftRealms.com Forum Index -> News and Announcements All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
WarcraftRealms.com  


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group