WarcraftReamls.com
  FAQFAQ    SearchSearch    MemberlistMemberlist    UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
  ProfileProfile    Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages    Log inLog in 
MoP beta - AddOns enabled

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    WarcraftRealms.com Forum Index -> General Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
FuxieDK



Joined: 22 May 2008
Posts: 458
Location: Copenhagen, DK
WR Updates: 2,623,293
FuxieDK WR Profile

PostPosted: Sat Jun 30, 2012 3:28 am    Post subject: MoP beta - AddOns enabled Reply with quote

As of today (or was it yesterday, maybe??), addons have been enabled on MoP beta..

When trying to open CensusPlus on the beta, the whole game client crash..
Not entirely unexpected, as this also happened on PTR in Cata, without causing problems on Live..

However, it can run, when not opening the window, and what surprised me most, was that both Monks and Pandas are incuded in the census. Not as individual searches ofc, but those that fit into the level ranges..
I can't see, if Horde Pandas are possible to tell apart from Aliance..

Anyway, we need Rollie active NOW, if this addons should have chance of surviving..

Small sample of census data from EU Beta server (Mekka) --> http://www.fuxie.dk/files/CensusPlus-MoP-Beta.rar

I'm quite sure, Rollie will be able to get a Beta-key (if he doesn't already have it) from curse.com --> http://www.curse.com/news/curse/45905-mists-of-pandaria-beta-key-giveaway-for-authors
_________________
Doing census on various servers Wink


Last edited by FuxieDK on Sat Jun 30, 2012 9:21 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Balgair
Araiceil


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1525
Location: UK
WR Updates: 11,177,020
Balgair WR Profile

PostPosted: Sat Jun 30, 2012 6:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yep, they were enabled this morning, I'm also getting the crash error, given it seems to happen on every PTR I'm not too worried, although it'd be handy if Rollie (or anyone else!) could track that down and fix it, since it doesn't make testing very easy (I'd be tempted to have a poke at the code to try and pick up lvl 90s if it didn't crash, but too hard to figure stuff out as it is).

ERROR #132 (0x85100084) Fatal exception!

Program: D:\Games\World of Warcraft Beta\WoW-64.exe
ProcessID: 3416
Exception: 0xC000008E (FLT_DIVIDE_BY_ZERO) at 0033:000007FEFDBBCACD


It will find Monks and Pandaren in the census, in Cata beta I could pick up Goblins and Worgen, it finds them when doing a general search of a level range, just obviously won't display them (even if the addon was openable!). I'll email Rollie with a link to this thread and see if he can find the time to respond this time.

Re Alliance/Horde Pandaren; there must be some flag somewhere which will mark them by faction, since they have Alliance or Horde in their tooltips. Whether that can be picked up, is another question, but if needs be I'd guess it'd be possible to stick a marker on the data depending which side you were on when doing the census. For the neutral pandas, I'd suggest marking The Wandering Isle the same as battlegrounds, and not allowing censuses to be run there: pandaren there can't /who outside of it, and people outside it can't /who the neutral pandas in it, and given everyone leaves it by lvl 12 or so, it won't lose much data to just exclude it.
_________________
EU-Draenor:
-- Sagart - Tairbh - Buinne - Balgair - Eilnich - Ruire - Dubh - Laidir - Naomh --
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bringoutyourdead
Forums Admin & general flunky


Joined: 07 Nov 2008
Posts: 654
Location: Silicon Valley
WR Updates: 7,131,290
bringoutyourdead WR Profile

PostPosted: Sat Jun 30, 2012 12:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Balgair wrote:
Re Alliance/Horde Pandaren; there must be some flag somewhere which will mark them by faction, since they have Alliance or Horde in their tooltips.

There is and Rollie already uses a variation of it .. wow api call
factionGroup, factionName = UnitFactionGroup("unit") or UnitFactionGroup("name")

Balgair wrote:
For the neutral pandas, I'd suggest marking The Wandering Isle the same as battlegrounds, and not allowing censuses to be run there: pandaren there can't /who outside of it, and people outside it can't /who the neutral pandas in it, and given everyone leaves it by lvl 12 or so, it won't lose much data to just exclude it.

A simpler option is to use UnitfactionGroup("self").. if the censusPlus character isn't Horde or Alliance, end census run (and put up a message)

Rollie for his database needs to internally mark A-Pandori and H-Pandori but show them as just Pandorean

The sad part of this is last November when I was looking at letter frequency for a more optimal search approach, I did a complete update of CensusPlus (purely as an exercise for learning Lua and XML coding.) I never bothered sending it to Rollie since it was based on wild ass guess assumptions of what Blizzard would do with Mists.
It fixed programming issues with Deprecated API calls that Rollie uses and Blizzard has announced they are abandoning.
It fixed redundant who API processing by better integrating the wholib library.
and it apparently correctly updated censusplus for the new max level, new classes and new split race.

What is sad about this.. about three months ago I lost all the work I had done.

I could have saved Rollie a third of his work.. since he will need to update/modify his addon, his database, and the website interface.

sigh Sad
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FuxieDK



Joined: 22 May 2008
Posts: 458
Location: Copenhagen, DK
WR Updates: 2,623,293
FuxieDK WR Profile

PostPosted: Sat Jun 30, 2012 3:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bringoutyourdead wrote:
What is sad about this.. about three months ago I lost all the work I had done.
Tough luck.. Sad

But on the other hand, maybe you can recreate the work, while you still have it in memory? Wink
_________________
Doing census on various servers Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Balgair
Araiceil


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1525
Location: UK
WR Updates: 11,177,020
Balgair WR Profile

PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2012 2:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rollie has replied to my email, so at least he's out there somewhere - says he's going to get that beta key and get working on updating Censusplus. He didn't mention a timescale but I'm hoping he really means soon, this time Wink
_________________
EU-Draenor:
-- Sagart - Tairbh - Buinne - Balgair - Eilnich - Ruire - Dubh - Laidir - Naomh --
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FuxieDK



Joined: 22 May 2008
Posts: 458
Location: Copenhagen, DK
WR Updates: 2,623,293
FuxieDK WR Profile

PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2012 3:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Soon(tm)
_________________
Doing census on various servers Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bringoutyourdead
Forums Admin & general flunky


Joined: 07 Nov 2008
Posts: 654
Location: Silicon Valley
WR Updates: 7,131,290
bringoutyourdead WR Profile

PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2012 4:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bringoutyourdead wrote:
.. wow api call
factionGroup, factionName = UnitFactionGroup("unit") or UnitFactionGroup("name")


A simpler option is to use UnitfactionGroup("self").. if the censusPlus character isn't Horde or Alliance, end census run (and put up a message)


and right out of gethub blizzard diffs on Mists...
local factionGroup = UnitFactionGroup("player");
if ( factionGroup and factionGroup ~= "Neutral" ) then
if ( factionGroup == "Alliance" ) then

so on and so forth.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bringoutyourdead
Forums Admin & general flunky


Joined: 07 Nov 2008
Posts: 654
Location: Silicon Valley
WR Updates: 7,131,290
bringoutyourdead WR Profile

PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2012 4:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

FuxieDK wrote:
But on the other hand, maybe you can recreate the work, while you still have it in memory? Wink


If it were only that simple. Even Rollie will need time to review what is in his code... as it has a history and is built on a slippery foundation provided by Blizzard. I had spent most of my time working out what items were program variables and what were Blizzard api and stuff. I found that there is a lot of program functions in the addon that are now dead code since Blizzard has made many changes.

I spent much of my free time the past few days just recreating and updating my editor wordfiles for the LUA and Blizzard functions as the ones you can find out in the wild are vary outdated..

Probably by the end of the week I'll be able to offer it to Rollie for his use.. assuming he wants to use it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bringoutyourdead
Forums Admin & general flunky


Joined: 07 Nov 2008
Posts: 654
Location: Silicon Valley
WR Updates: 7,131,290
bringoutyourdead WR Profile

PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2012 12:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Assistance needed... request for MoP beta testers.

Please run the following macro under the following conditions and let me know what you see as result.

/run local factionGroup, factionName = UnitFactionGroup("player"); print("fgroup = ",factionGroup," ,fName = ",factionName);

Run while logged in as Alliance character
should see fgroup = Alliance ,fname = Localized name of the faction

Run while logged in as Horde character
should see fgroup = Horde ,fname = Localized name of the faction

Run while logged in as start zone non-faction Pandaren character
should see fgroup = something? ,fname = Localized name of something?

The first two runs will verify I got the macro right, the last run will tell us what change if any Blizzard made for characters that are not yet identified as Alliance or Horde.

Currently (pre-MoP) the expected result set for factionGroup is {Alliance | Horde | nil - i.e not defined} I want to see if this has changed.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Balgair
Araiceil


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1525
Location: UK
WR Updates: 11,177,020
Balgair WR Profile

PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2012 4:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alliance:
fgroup = Alliance ,fname = Alliance

Horde:
fgroup = Horde ,fname = Horde

Pandaren:
fgroup = Neutral ,fname =

Yeah, it's just blank under fname, I didn't miss it out! Hope this helps Smile
_________________
EU-Draenor:
-- Sagart - Tairbh - Buinne - Balgair - Eilnich - Ruire - Dubh - Laidir - Naomh --
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bringoutyourdead
Forums Admin & general flunky


Joined: 07 Nov 2008
Posts: 654
Location: Silicon Valley
WR Updates: 7,131,290
bringoutyourdead WR Profile

PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2012 10:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks!

Fgroup return was what I expected from the github diff's
fname return coming back as blank.. aka nil isn't unexpected, they haven't updated their localization files yet.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Hybuir
Gear Dependent Squirrel
Gear Dependent Squirrel


Joined: 06 Sep 2005
Posts: 1538
Location: Austin, TX
WR Updates: 2,634,634
Hybuir WR Profile

PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2012 8:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

/RollieSignal
_________________

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address
bringoutyourdead
Forums Admin & general flunky


Joined: 07 Nov 2008
Posts: 654
Location: Silicon Valley
WR Updates: 7,131,290
bringoutyourdead WR Profile

PostPosted: Thu Jul 19, 2012 5:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have been working on the mod but my work will only be going to Rollie for his use or trashing. It has been sent to Rollie.

The biggest problem with Blizzard adding a dual faction race is that to keep down confusion there must be an easy way to identify the correct faction for the race on the display windows both in mod and here at the website. With the mod you could sort of ignore it and go with an generic picture, but I went with using the racial faction leader (in this case the Monk trainers.)

The second problem was to insure that a player character that wasn't a member of either the Alliance or Horde could not trigger useless census runs or display census information that normally would be seen.

As far as I can tell.. that only major issue I have left with the mod is the background texture upon which all the icons, bars and text display. As it currently exists there is no room for new Races. I propose that the two textures window-left and window-right be recreated as Window-left {race} Window-center {race-class} Window-right {class .. guild and the rest}

Rollie will need to make similar changes for display here on the website.

The kicker.. which may or may not exist .. is how Rollie did his database schema. If he is using Race as a key or even worse a primary key, that makes having a Race that moves from faction to faction a problem. If he is using as I hope Faction-race key then database structure changes won't be needed .. just adding the new race(s) and class.

Since I don't have access to his side of the picture, I haven't a real clue if the changes I made would actually work... but working on the code was informative and interesting.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    WarcraftRealms.com Forum Index -> General Discussion All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
WarcraftRealms.com  


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group