WarcraftReamls.com
  FAQFAQ    SearchSearch    MemberlistMemberlist    UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
  ProfileProfile    Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages    Log inLog in 
Heads up: patch 5.4: Siege of Orgrimmar replys and comments
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    WarcraftRealms.com Forum Index -> CensusPlus UI Mod Bugs
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Balgair
Araiceil


Joined: 30 Sep 2005
Posts: 1549
Location: UK
WR Updates: 11,396,778
Balgair WR Profile

PostPosted: Thu Sep 05, 2013 4:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Will the addon be able to reformat correctly pre-patch data so it can be processed by the website after the patch, or should we just wipe clean and start over when the patch hits? I don't mind a day or so of missed data if needs be, just want to know whether it's going to go that way!

Btw @Fuxie - 385 in queue when I logged on last night, took 20 mins to get in; I guess you just log in before the queues build up Razz And this is BEFORE the patch, next week will be fun....
_________________
EU-Draenor:
-- Sagart - Tairbh - Buinne - Balgair - Naomh - Eilnich - Ruire - Dubh - Laidir --
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bringoutyourdead
Forums Admin & general flunky


Joined: 07 Nov 2008
Posts: 716
Location: Silicon Valley
WR Updates: 7,286,253
bringoutyourdead WR Profile

PostPosted: Thu Sep 05, 2013 8:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

FuxieDK I would suggest not bothering to do that.... you will only waste your time..
and irritate Metalbeast (very very slightly)... as the upload process, spots the bad format on the uploaded files.. and dumps them.

You will just end up with a bunch of process E records in your list.

Balgair.. unfortunately since I have no way to know if a character in your local database was /who logged or random CRZ sighting... I can't be sure of data integrity, so I can't allow that data to get to WR.com.

The first time you login after installing the new version of CensusPlus it will automatically see the existing bad formatted local database and Purge it... after that you will be good for that account.

This is why we are warning everyone to get their data uploaded before Metalbeast starts his business day on US Patch day. So as was said in the announcement... I would get your uploads in by 10-09-13 @14:00 UTC {yea for you Americans. that is EU formatted date.}

For those of you across the Pacific in AU, NZ , etc lands.. you know the weird times you have with Blizzard.. as soon as the realms drop on you.. you should go ahead and upload data.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FuxieDK



Joined: 22 May 2008
Posts: 477
Location: Copenhagen, DK
WR Updates: 2,725,919
FuxieDK WR Profile

PostPosted: Sat Sep 07, 2013 5:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Does new version also census players you CR-group with?
If so, what happens if I CR-group with a RU player using cyrilic characters in his name (and server name)?
_________________
Doing census on various servers Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bringoutyourdead
Forums Admin & general flunky


Joined: 07 Nov 2008
Posts: 716
Location: Silicon Valley
WR Updates: 7,286,253
bringoutyourdead WR Profile

PostPosted: Sat Sep 07, 2013 3:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

FuxieDx that is a very good question.

Just like the current version.. a normal census run would not return any CRZ (aka Coalesced using the new Blizzard term) characters... but if you target or mouse over that character then it is picked up for the basic character database in game.

However none of the local display modes will be able to select that character so you can't actually display the info in game.. unless you log in on that characters home realm (or Connected realms if Blizzard has them turned on).

The addon doesn't know or care about the different character sets used to present the various languages. Looking the the output file from PTR runs I see Korean, Cyrillic, and all the various languages covered by the western character set.

Unfortunately unless something has changed here at Warcraftrealms.com, the sites database engine is character set sensitive... and can't handle anything but the standard western character set. You will have to ask Metalbeast about that. At the minimum it would take a larger amount of down time {for him to unload all of the data out of the database, restructure the schema to handle the multiple character sets and reload all the data back in} ... then you would be happy to see.

I also expect that the rebuild of the database is just a minor part of the problem... all of the processing code that scans and parses the uploaded files are build to expect the Western character set... and they would have to be gone over line by line.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bringoutyourdead
Forums Admin & general flunky


Joined: 07 Nov 2008
Posts: 716
Location: Silicon Valley
WR Updates: 7,286,253
bringoutyourdead WR Profile

PostPosted: Tue Sep 10, 2013 12:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

a running ramble for patch day... I'll just edit this message as new things come up.
Look for message in Announcements forum when addon is available at curse.com

Figuring that Blizzard wouldn't make their 10am up time.. I didn't bother until after 11am
Yea servers are up... oh and they made their deadline.. just like airlines... it might have been 10:58am.. but it was still 10am.. lol.. I had a side bet with Metalbeast that it wouldn't be up until 1pm...

took forever for WoW init to get to final part download stage... and at this time 20+ minutes into I'm uploading to peers at more then 10:1 of my download rate.. at this rate it might be 1pm before I have the full 5.4 patch Crying or Very sad

Ah... direct download has finally kicked in... I might soon be able to go in game... final push is ~248MB.

edit: 11:44am
New EULA.. 5.0.4... wall of text.. sure I read..right... AH.. section 14.G is interesting.. I wonder if the EULA change was because of New Zealand laws?
TOU is still 4.0.3

First good news.. the TOC for CensusPlus is valid.. it is my only non out of data addon.. lol

edit: 11:48 my CensusPlus output on login was 5.6MB in size. and Houston we have a problem.

edit: 11:55 my bad... since PTR isn't compatible with live.. I had things commented out for PTR... when I did final clean up.. I re-enabled a loop.. but missed the commented out end of loop... bad programmer Rolling Eyes

edit: 12:01 AND WE ARE PROCESSING... database was purged.. and we look good for basic census take... now to look at what was produced.

edit: 12:07 example of change in output file
["Servers"] = {
["Archimonde"] = {
["Horde"] = {
["Troll"] = {
["Warrior"] = {
["Frikkay"] = {
83, -- [1]
"Prototype", -- [2]
"Archimonde", -- [3]
"2013-09-10", -- [4]
},

What is now 4th item was 3rd... the new 3rd is the home realm of the Guild.
Connected realm code in addon appears to be working.. but since there aren't any connect realms.. the only connected realm I see is the one I'm on. Which isn't the best of data points for testing Laughing

12:16... whoa! tool tip on mouse over player has changed... in spite what is said in the release notes.... there is a lot of new connected/coalesced info in the tool-tip Shocked Surprised Cool not only do you see name-realm.. but you also get for * characters coalesced.. and the (battle?)group they are in.
12:20... Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy and I even got that recorded in the output! the targeted and sighting captures weren't tested much in PTR since things were so confused there... I wasn't 100% sure that I had the code correct but it looks good.

12:25 an aside.. the enraged mindless zombies in the Undead starting stop.. are no longer showing red... ah yes they enrage.. but then right away they loose that rage marker... previously they stayed that way until they got to the despawn point.
and another aside.... Starter editions can now get to non-standard global chat channels... (I use that for debug purposes and it wouldn't work for me in live 5.3)

12:32 Non-Critical error confirmed... the Pause button still isn't working correctly. not a release stopper.

12:45 sigh.. correction to my 2nd aside.. I can setup and join a non-standard global channel.. but I can't send text to it.. Sad

13:16 confirmed API call UnitRealmRelationship is not fully enabled.. or probably more correctly the data it needs to return a valid result hasn't been loaded into Blizzards database... this is needed for determining if Connected realms is turned on.... at least it isn't a release stopper.
13:17 oddly enough.. it the unit censused is the player .. then the API call works and returns a valid result. so from that we know that the code is in place.. but the data isn't.

13:49 Laughing Blizzard has two programming errors showing up in the FrameXML.log one relates to a missing or improper tag element for the QuestLog frame. The other relates to an unknown script element OnClick in of all places a Battle Pet tool-tip!! it is possible that the later is related to how they block Starter editions from partaking in Pet Battle mini game.

14:40 things look good.. I did multiple runs on a low pop server.. and a single run on a high pop server to get lots of different character-realm combos covered.. all looked good.. I've submitted that to the website.. and we will see if it processes.
In the mean time.. I have a few more fiddly bits.. the readme's etc to update and I think it will be ready to send off to curse.

oh yea.. one final thing... a new term entered into the localization file...
CENSUSPlus_CONNECTED = "Connected Realms: %s";
I tried my best to put in the translation... but since I used Google translate .. who knows .. If it is that bad... after you pick yourselves off of the floor and have gotten your laughing under control.. please send what you think would be a better translation for the language you use.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bringoutyourdead
Forums Admin & general flunky


Joined: 07 Nov 2008
Posts: 716
Location: Silicon Valley
WR Updates: 7,286,253
bringoutyourdead WR Profile

PostPosted: Tue Sep 10, 2013 4:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well that was somewhat disappointing... the upload finally processed... as a valid file... but no data was recorded as updated or new... Metalbeast has some work still to do.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SannaSK



Joined: 07 Sep 2005
Posts: 69

WR Updates: 418,020
SannaSK WR Profile

PostPosted: Tue Sep 10, 2013 9:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

so should I hold on to the luas and not upload them just yet?
_________________
Censusing: Mostly Bronzebeard, Aggramar, Elune; sometimes Alleria, Icecrown, Scilla, Kel'Thuzad, Mal'Ganis, Draka, Staghelm, Nathrezim, Stonemaul.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bringoutyourdead
Forums Admin & general flunky


Joined: 07 Nov 2008
Posts: 716
Location: Silicon Valley
WR Updates: 7,286,253
bringoutyourdead WR Profile

PostPosted: Tue Sep 10, 2013 10:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

No... Metalbeast found his problem and uploads are working... at least mine did...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FuxieDK



Joined: 22 May 2008
Posts: 477
Location: Copenhagen, DK
WR Updates: 2,725,919
FuxieDK WR Profile

PostPosted: Tue Sep 10, 2013 10:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

BOYD, my friend... You have been a buzy bee Smile
Kudos for getting the MAJOR change up and running..

So, one question:
I have a very small LUA file stored, containing my own toons, which I use to "touch" the date of all my toons, and when swapping guilds, change names etc..
For this LUA to work with new version, I have to change two things:
1) Version number
2) Add realm-name (does it need to include EU, and if so, as prefix or suffix?) between guild name and date

Is this correctly understood?

Current structure:
- Server-tag
- - Server-name
- - - Faction-tag
- - - - Race
- - - - - Class
- - - - - - Player name
- - - - - - - Level
- - - - - - - Guild
- - - - - - - Server-name
- - - - - - - Date

Is it really nessesary to store server-name twice? And why the server-tag? Can toons be found in other places than servers?

Why not change the format (idea for WoW 6.0) to:
- Player name
- - Level
- - Race
- - Class
- - Server
- - Guild
- - Date
- - (Faction tag, if race isn't unique for stupid pandas)
- Player
- - Level
.
.
.
- - Date

etc etc etc..

This still holds every info needed..
_________________
Doing census on various servers Wink


Last edited by FuxieDK on Tue Sep 10, 2013 11:07 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Padanfain
Updater Extraordinaire


Joined: 18 Dec 2010
Posts: 152
Location: Shadar Logoth
WR Updates: 22,237,488
Padanfain WR Profile

PostPosted: Tue Sep 10, 2013 11:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The first server name is the characters server and the second server name is for the guild server name. Future connected realm info. You will be able to join a guild from a connected realm.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bringoutyourdead
Forums Admin & general flunky


Joined: 07 Nov 2008
Posts: 716
Location: Silicon Valley
WR Updates: 7,286,253
bringoutyourdead WR Profile

PostPosted: Tue Sep 10, 2013 11:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

FuxieDK, I don't understand what you are doing...

Are you telling us that you are submitting data that isn't coming from within the game?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FuxieDK



Joined: 22 May 2008
Posts: 477
Location: Copenhagen, DK
WR Updates: 2,725,919
FuxieDK WR Profile

PostPosted: Tue Sep 10, 2013 11:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bringoutyourdead wrote:
FuxieDK, I don't understand what you are doing...

Are you telling us that you are submitting data that isn't coming from within the game?
For my own toon... Yes, sometimes..
_________________
Doing census on various servers Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bringoutyourdead
Forums Admin & general flunky


Joined: 07 Nov 2008
Posts: 716
Location: Silicon Valley
WR Updates: 7,286,253
bringoutyourdead WR Profile

PostPosted: Wed Sep 11, 2013 2:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Uploaded false data... where false is anything that didn't directly come from the game is not anything that Metalbeast or I can condone or support.

We realize that we have no way to stop this kind of activity, but it doesn't make us happy.


You can do the same thing from in game data by just doing

/census me

and then uploading the file... that insures there are no typo errors or other problems with the data being uploaded
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    WarcraftRealms.com Forum Index -> CensusPlus UI Mod Bugs All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3
Page 3 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
WarcraftRealms.com  


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group