WarcraftReamls.com
  FAQFAQ    SearchSearch    MemberlistMemberlist    UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
  ProfileProfile    Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages    Log inLog in 
I think I broke something...

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    WarcraftRealms.com Forum Index -> CensusPlus UI Mod Bugs
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Fett



Joined: 01 Nov 2008
Posts: 50

WR Updates: 844,597
Fett WR Profile

PostPosted: Tue Sep 10, 2013 5:51 pm    Post subject: I think I broke something... Reply with quote

When I mouse over a PC I get this:

Message: Interface\AddOns\CensusPlus\CensusPlus.lua:3997: bad argument #1 to 'find' (string expected, got nil)
Time: 09/10/13 16:48:20
Count: 1
Stack: [C]: in function `find'
Interface\AddOns\CensusPlus\CensusPlus.lua:3997: in function `PTR_Color_ProblemRealmGuilds_check'
Interface\AddOns\CensusPlus\CensusPlus.lua:1657: in function `CensusPlus_ProcessTarget'
Interface\AddOns\CensusPlus\CensusPlus.lua:1591: in function <Interface>

Locals: (*temporary) = nil
(*temporary) = "|cff"
(*temporary) = "string expected, got nil"
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fett



Joined: 01 Nov 2008
Posts: 50

WR Updates: 844,597
Fett WR Profile

PostPosted: Tue Sep 10, 2013 7:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Okay, my first guess when everyone else wasn't seeing the same error was that maybe one of my addons was conflicting with CensusPlus. So I logged in with the free account that I sometimes use for censuses since I have all of my addons disabled on that account. Sure enough, CensusPlus worked flawlessly. So I removed all of the other addons from my AddOns directory, and logged in my regular account with only CensusPlus, and I was once again getting the above error. Then I noticed something. All that extra coalesced realm information that's not supposed to be in the tooltips but is anyway, it only shows up in the tooltip on my trial account, it does not show on my regular account. Why? I haven't a clue. But I suspect that difference may be the culprit.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fett



Joined: 01 Nov 2008
Posts: 50

WR Updates: 844,597
Fett WR Profile

PostPosted: Tue Sep 10, 2013 7:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just noticed an error in the error message I had posted. I am guessing the HTML monster is eating some of the text.

Where it says <Interface>, inside those angle brackets it should say Interface\AddOns\CensusPlus\CensusPlus.lua:1530.

I am guessing something tried to parse that because of the angle brackets.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SannaSK



Joined: 07 Sep 2005
Posts: 69

WR Updates: 418,020
SannaSK WR Profile

PostPosted: Tue Sep 10, 2013 7:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I just ran census on 4 other realm/faction combos, then went to my home server with all my addons, and got this same error. so you aren't alone.
_________________
Censusing: Mostly Bronzebeard, Aggramar, Elune; sometimes Alleria, Icecrown, Scilla, Kel'Thuzad, Mal'Ganis, Draka, Staghelm, Nathrezim, Stonemaul.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bringoutyourdead
Forums Admin & general flunky


Joined: 07 Nov 2008
Posts: 613
Location: Silicon Valley
WR Updates: 7,110,282
bringoutyourdead WR Profile

PostPosted: Tue Sep 10, 2013 7:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

need data

when you see the error..

What realm/faction are you...
and what realm/faction is the mouse-over or target character?

And are you saying on active accounts you do not see on the selected character from another realm full tool-tips with? :
character-realm

coalesced
group: something or other
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bringoutyourdead
Forums Admin & general flunky


Joined: 07 Nov 2008
Posts: 613
Location: Silicon Valley
WR Updates: 7,110,282
bringoutyourdead WR Profile

PostPosted: Tue Sep 10, 2013 8:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If I can get past the "Logging into game server" block
I'll do some testing.

1591 says it was a mouse over target
1657 says the target didn't have the -realm in the name so get the local realm from your clients CVars


and congrats you found a bug I didn't see... realmname is not equal to realmName .. sigh...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
SannaSK



Joined: 07 Sep 2005
Posts: 69

WR Updates: 418,020
SannaSK WR Profile

PostPosted: Tue Sep 10, 2013 9:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was on Bronzebeard-Alliance and I moused over a char from Bronzebeard that I'm 99% sure was also Alliance (i was paying more attn to 'oh crap i just closed swatter and that was an error with Census, how do I get swatter box back, ahh').

On my active account, I do see the new tooltips that say stuff about coaleced and group-something.

I just logged and am about to fall asleep but if the error pops again tmr, i'll be sure to copy-paste the whole thing and pay attn to what you've asked for.
_________________
Censusing: Mostly Bronzebeard, Aggramar, Elune; sometimes Alleria, Icecrown, Scilla, Kel'Thuzad, Mal'Ganis, Draka, Staghelm, Nathrezim, Stonemaul.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Fett



Joined: 01 Nov 2008
Posts: 50

WR Updates: 844,597
Fett WR Profile

PostPosted: Tue Sep 10, 2013 9:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry I didn't get back sooner, but I suspect you have this all figured out anyway.

bringoutyourdead wrote:
What realm/faction are you...


Kilrogg/Alliance

bringoutyourdead wrote:
and what realm/faction is the mouse-over or target character?


Kilrogg/Alliance

This is the part I hadn't realized before. Because my character on my active account is in the Shrine, I was seeing only characters from my own server. That is also why I wasn't seeing the coalesced information. Once I got out into the world, I discovered that I could mouse over characters from other servers without the error, and the tooltip would show the coalesced information. On my trial account character, I happened to be seeing only characters from other servers. My conclusion about what was making the difference was wrong. On my trial account I happened to be seeing only characters from other servers, and on my active account I was seeing only characters from my own server. Characters from other servers display the coalesced information, and do not cause the error. Characters from my own server do no display the coalesced information and do cause the error.

I keep telling myself, "Troubleshooting is fun!" Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bringoutyourdead
Forums Admin & general flunky


Joined: 07 Nov 2008
Posts: 613
Location: Silicon Valley
WR Updates: 7,110,282
bringoutyourdead WR Profile

PostPosted: Tue Sep 10, 2013 9:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

And that was my problem.. I did about 10 census runs while standing in the Undead starting area.. and I saw multiple characters that I moused over.. and all of them were other servers... then after I finished the high pop census... where I didn't touch the mouse in game.. and was fixing the documentation... I looked at the output file and found
other realm no guild no problem.... but I never hit the same realm sighting bug...


One thing.. is when you get the bug you can dismiss the error pop up and the problem doesn't display again in that session.. and censusplus continues functioning... the only real impact is that the targeted character doesn't get captured for census.

When I finally got back into the game... I selected one realm... but got dumped into another one... not wanting to get caught in the wait loop I stayed on that realm and moved my character from Ashenvale.. ended up going to Iron Forge... where almost everyone I saw was again other realm. sigh. And this was on a medium realm.. but high pop for that realm faction. (10-20 minutes to run census last week.)
But I was able to trigger the error... and continue doing census in spite of the error.

So the error is a pain but not a show stopper.

Also the error popped up in an area of the code that Rollie had put in back in 1.x days to protect against bad data errors.... and I don't think it is possible to actually generate these errors any more. So the code is going away.. after more testing... but on the other hand it was there when we needed a error condition trigger that was totally different. It was a good thing and bad thing....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bringoutyourdead
Forums Admin & general flunky


Joined: 07 Nov 2008
Posts: 613
Location: Silicon Valley
WR Updates: 7,110,282
bringoutyourdead WR Profile

PostPosted: Tue Sep 10, 2013 10:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

found the underlying cause of the problem ... lazy Blizzard programmers... grrr..

They extended an API so that name,realm=UnitName(character) returned the name and realm of the character.... (realm being the extension).. except when the character is local then realm returns nil aka nothing.. and that breaks code...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
FuxieDK



Joined: 22 May 2008
Posts: 455
Location: Copenhagen, DK
WR Updates: 2,596,413
FuxieDK WR Profile

PostPosted: Tue Sep 10, 2013 11:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bringoutyourdead wrote:
found the underlying cause of the problem ... lazy Blizzard programmers... grrr..

They extended an API so that name,realm=UnitName(character) returned the name and realm of the character.... (realm being the extension).. except when the character is local then realm returns nil aka nothing.. and that breaks code...
Something you can fixe before EU comes online in 3 hours?
_________________
Doing census on various servers Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    WarcraftRealms.com Forum Index -> CensusPlus UI Mod Bugs All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
WarcraftRealms.com  


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group