WarcraftReamls.com
  FAQFAQ    SearchSearch    MemberlistMemberlist    UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
  ProfileProfile    Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages    Log inLog in 
Battlenet desktop app breaks CensusPlus integrity

 
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    WarcraftRealms.com Forum Index -> News and Announcements
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bringoutyourdead
Forums Admin & general flunky


Joined: 07 Nov 2008
Posts: 1155
Location: Silicon Valley, CA, USA
WR Updates: 9,175,705
bringoutyourdead WR Profile

PostPosted: Sun Jul 20, 2014 9:03 pm    Post subject: Battlenet desktop app breaks CensusPlus integrity Reply with quote

Thanks to Beta tester Balgair...
IF you have multi-region licenses for WoW in one Battlenet account Please do not switch regions without deleting your database.
{edit: Purge that was suggested doesn't fix the problem .. the database has to be removed completely and allowed to restart on next loading of CensusPlus in game}

..
per user Simca on wowinterface.com
"A heads-up to users of GetCVar("realmList") - you will need another solution for WoD. That CVar is managed by the BNet app and is deprecated. Fresh installs will no longer have it set.

GetCVar("portal") does seem to still work. It returns "public-test" on PTRs/beta realms though, so make sure to account for that (I would test the returned value and call test realms 'xx' personally, since that's what realmList did).

This change breaks many addons, including part of Ace3."

CensusPlus is also caught by this change.
I will be checking out the 'portal' variable.. and if it works for us will be putting out a mandatory update in a few days.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bringoutyourdead
Forums Admin & general flunky


Joined: 07 Nov 2008
Posts: 1155
Location: Silicon Valley, CA, USA
WR Updates: 9,175,705
bringoutyourdead WR Profile

PostPosted: Sun Jul 20, 2014 10:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sigh.. and again..
if you have multi-region licenses for WoW in one Battlenet account
There isn't any fix with the current version.... just don't run CensusPlus except in your home region.

from Balgair in the UK:
"Ah, seen the edit - no, deleting the database doesn't work either - no matter what I try, it sets itself to Europe, only solution is not uploading from the region your install isn't from :-/ I've tried:

Purging
Deleting lua file
Editing lua file to say US

Every time it sets itself to Europe."
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bringoutyourdead
Forums Admin & general flunky


Joined: 07 Nov 2008
Posts: 1155
Location: Silicon Valley, CA, USA
WR Updates: 9,175,705
bringoutyourdead WR Profile

PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2014 10:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unfortunately with more testing addon authors are finding that Blizzard has put us in a bind.

At this time there is no way for an addon to determine which region the game is currently running.

PLEASE DO NOT use your WoW client in both regions.
IF you must do so then stop using CensusPlus ( and many more addons that track the following {characters, guilds, quests.. and probably more}).


The only solution that will work is to have a separate WoW client (different directories and launch short cuts) for each region.
However I can tell you from personal experience it isn't simple.
The Battlenet desktop app will (apparently randomly it seems) change the install and game directory pointers in the launcher and you will need to verify those game settings every time you launch WoW.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    WarcraftRealms.com Forum Index -> News and Announcements All times are GMT - 6 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
WarcraftRealms.com  


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group