Censusplus and Mercenary Mode

General discussion of WarcraftRealms UI Mods
Post Reply
Balgair
Araiceil
Posts: 1716
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 11:47 am
Location: UK

Censusplus and Mercenary Mode

Post by Balgair »

So I just realised we might have some data validity issues with the new Mercenary Mode. Basically, it lets people queue for PVP (battlegrounds and Ashran, possibly other pvp zones?) as the opposite faction. And they appear truly as a member of the opposite faction, being converted to another race, mouseover tooltips included. So, if I go in Ashran, mouseover a nelf druid who's playing as a Horde mercenary, I'm guessing Censusplus will say, hey, that's a tauren druid, record it as such and bam, said druid is now showing as the wrong faction in the database.

Obvious solution: block mouseover (and harvesting group member infos, if Census does that at all) from working in PvP zones (and in Warspear/Stormshield for a minute or so after leaving Ashran, until you've been booted from the group).

Hopefully not too much broken data has been introduced; I guess looking for duplicates of name/server/class seen within a few days of each other would find them, if it's likely to be a big problem, but since it'll only occur in PvP, that lessens the chances of huge numbers being seen.

User avatar
bringoutyourdead
Forums Admin & general flunky
Posts: 1432
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 1:11 pm
Location: Texas, USA

Post by bringoutyourdead »

Thanks Balgair
and sigh thanks Blizzard :cry:

I will get an update out in a few days...
I have been playing with Windows 10 as of release date.
I can say with confidence, upgrading to windows 10 can be problematic.
Ok to be honest, if I weren't an IT type I would have to say Windows 10 was broken on my machine.
While I could work around the problems it wasn't happy time.

Because of the above.. The last two days have been spent in doing full backups to a plug in 2TB hard drive, followed by a repair (full opsys and apps wipe and rebuild.. user data untouched [hey that worked!])

I have done new machine installs of Windows 10 for other people and have seen that it looks good when fully working.

Late last night I jolted this monster with all the power I had and "It's Alive!!!"
Now I am in the process of getting all my programs reinstalled and working as previously configured.

Unfortunately the time lost on fixing my machine has impacted my efforts to drag the EU region out of ZERO ZERO census runs.
No one seems to be doing census runs across a number of realms in the EU region these days .

Balgair
Araiceil
Posts: 1716
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 11:47 am
Location: UK

Post by Balgair »

Ouch, that sounds a nightmare. I'm happy to stay back with Windows 7: it just works ;)

Guilty on the censusing, I haven't done other servers in ages, oops :oops: Too much playing my regular characters/playing other games recently!

Balgair
Araiceil
Posts: 1716
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2005 11:47 am
Location: UK

Post by Balgair »

...So yeah, removal of mouseover detection was indeed the best choice: I just saw a Gnome Hunter :lol: Apparently costume toys make your tooltip reflect the costume, if it's a player race, I tried it myself and became a Tauren Rogue. Even more scope to produce completely wrong data :P

User avatar
bringoutyourdead
Forums Admin & general flunky
Posts: 1432
Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2008 1:11 pm
Location: Texas, USA

Post by bringoutyourdead »

I could have done a bit more complex programing as I had seen a Tauren Rogue (Alliance) tag in starting area.. where the buff has shown it came from a toy.

But just too many ways for Blizzard to play around... so that is why I just removed non-/who feature.

Post Reply